6 Replies - 1189 Views - Last Post: 17 February 2010 - 04:04 AM

#1 Guest_lc123*

Confused about languages...

Post icon  Posted 08 February 2010 - 07:30 AM

Hi Guys

new to the forum, found it through google. (warning: long post!)

So my situation is this: I am looking to move forward with my programming "career" but am consfused about what I should do. Right now I work as a support/developer in a professional setting. I support the websites at my company. Any programming I undertake personally I do (probably badly!) through coldfusion. Simply, given I have little experience this is the easiest to use I have found. Also it is what our outside web developers use (I hand off any work that I can't do)

I have had exposure in my job to asp.net/C#, looking at existing code I can somewhat understand and probably make small changes to. But I would not be comfortable undertaking a development project in this. It seems to me that ASP.NEt is a bit more impressive, but also seems a lot harder.

While I am doing fine in my job, and can easily give people what they want usually, using the CF/dreamweaver, in order to move forward in my career I feel it is necessary for me to get some kind of certifications. I do have a degree of course, in information systems. But i need to get actual programming knowledge/certifications

my company will likely pay a large chunk of class costs for me.

but what to do? Should I study alone, using books and take online tests like the Adobe certification in Coldfusion, or the various Microsoft asp.net certifications available? Should I start "at the top" and take a C programming course? I did take Java in uni but I can hardly remember that so my OO programming knowledge is somewhat rusty.

Basically I'm not really sure what direction to go in. I began searching online and found out that there are about a dozen programming languages I've never even heard of, and people say they are the "best" so I'm terribly confused!