Are programmers controlling when it comes to their code?

• (3 Pages)
  • +

35 Replies - 5362 Views - Last Post: 11 February 2012 - 09:54 PM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Are programmers controlling when it comes to their code?

Post icon  Posted 10 February 2010 - 01:00 PM

I have been programming for about two years now, basically when I started college. All I hear from my professors is that programming in the real world is working in teams or with other people to complete projects.

So far I have taken c and c++ and right now am taking java just for fun. My professor requires us to work with a partner since it is simulating work in the real world. The way she has us work is at one computer and one compiler just switching back and forth every little task we are assigned for the day.

The partner that was randomly assigned to work with me for the rest of the semester has never programmed and she is a little scatter brained... It drives me crazy every time she codes something that I would change, even if it the slightest difference...

For example:

I would do something like
int monthsPassed = 0;

and she would do...
int monthspassed;
monthspassed = 0;

There are other things she does like leaving empty space were it shouldn't go, or declaring variables randomly throughout the code, or not even having a scheme to the way the program should be laid out.

Am I doomed to never be able to program with anyone!? I am not controlling at all when it comes to ANYTHING else, but this drives me crazy.

Does anyone else have similar problems when it comes to programming with others?

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Are programmers controlling when it comes to their code?

• holy shitin shishkebobs
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Are programmers controlling when it comes to their code?

Posted 10 February 2010 - 01:04 PM