5 Replies - 2486 Views - Last Post: 19 February 2010 - 02:00 AM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Winform bubble up

Posted 18 February 2010 - 09:40 AM

Hello,
I'm new at this. I remember seeing something that causes the focus (improper terminology) of a desktop application to rise above all other apps. I dont remember what it was called. I'm making a chat app and want it to rise to the top when a message is received. This way if it's running in the background or minimized it will pop-up and you don't leave someone in the cold. I want to say Z-index, but thats for elements in HTML. This would be the same thing that happens when you are downloading something and then start doing something else and when the download is complete the dialog box pops up above everything else...I hope I'm explaining this properly.

Can anyone decipher what I'm trying to explain and point me in the right direction?

Cheers.
JS

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Winform bubble up

• "ADDICTED"[2:5]
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Winform bubble up

Posted 18 February 2010 - 10:40 AM

Let's address the actual concept of what you're trying to do.

So, you have a chat application and when a message is received in a minimized window or when behind windows, you want to bring it to front so the user can deal with it?

Do you happen to have any idea just how annoying to users that would be? Imagine you're banging away at some document and idling in the chat room. Every 3 seconds, the chat window comes to the front and you end up sending all characters to the chat window instead.

Seriously - this is a bad idea. Your better option may be to cause the minimized window to blink in the task bar. You may alternately want to use a notify bubble.
http://www.codeproje...ifyballoon.aspx

If you still really want to do this, I'll answer you differently. For now, rethink this idea please. Your users will thank you.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• D.I.C Regular