1 Replies - 1103 Views - Last Post: 19 February 2010 - 12:11 PM

• using Caffeine;
  • member icon

• View blog

Changes in programming & computers

Posted 19 February 2010 - 12:02 PM

Well, my 41st birthday is coming up next weekend. That will mean I've been working with computers for 31 years now. Yes, I started at 10 when my brother brought a computer home from his school, he was three years ahead of me, for the summer. There was this TSR-80 computer. It plugged through an adapter into the TV for its video. It used the BASIC programming language as it's OS I would say. Anything you wanted to do with the computer you needed to use BASIC to do it. You could also write assembly code with it of course, but there were none of the tools around that are available today.

Well, the point of the thread, computers and programming have come a long way since I started out on this journey. For along time, programs were filled with goto's, and it was hard to create large, complex programs because most of the languages at the time just weren't designed for it.

There were other problems as well. Computers were big, bulky, and slow. There are now digital watches that have as much power when compared to early computers. I know that there are devices like iPods, cell phones, etc. that were well beyond what was available at the time.

As many of you probably know, C was a revolutionary step forward when it came to creating complex programs. There were other structured programming languages, Algol, Pascal, etc. They were mainly teaching tools though. COBOL was a bit of weird duck. It was great for batch processing. Give it a huge chunk of data, tell it what you wanted to do with the data, and it did it quite well.