• (2 Pages)
  • +

22 Replies - 7852 Views - Last Post: 28 July 2010 - 12:16 PM

• D.I.C Lover
  • member icon

• View blog

Is getting certified worth it?

Posted 23 February 2010 - 07:48 PM

I'm interested in getting a Microsoft certification, mainly the MCAD. Is it worth it? I mainly want it because I'm 100% positive I'll learn things along the way and it'll show potential employers that I know my stuff.

I'm also interested in a PHP certification but I have no idea which one is a good one to get.

Any help?
Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Is getting certified worth it?

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Re: Is getting certified worth it?

Posted 24 February 2010 - 10:25 AM

I'm not sure about the specific certification you are asking about, but generally certs tend to depend on the employer. I know that's a vague answer, but it's what I have figured out. I am an intern for a power company working in the networks group designing network layouts and troubleshooting connection problems. My supervisor LOVES certifications, so I will get a CCNA over the summer (when I am not in school). Overall, it can't hurt... so I would say go for it if you have the time and resources...
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• D.I.C Addict

• View blog

Posted 24 February 2010 - 02:15 PM

Well, I know with my employer they highly valued the certs. I am A+ and Net+ certified and I walked in with an associates degree in Networking. My employer, due to their ignorance actually offers more money for the certs than for the degree despite the fact that the degree is far more in depth.

So 1. It depends on your employer 2. It depends on your employer's knowledge level 3. It will at least demonstrate competency in a field and get you through the door.

So yes get it. Now, are there any certs for programming out there?
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• D.I.C Lover
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 24 February 2010 - 04:29 PM