9 Replies - 1626 Views - Last Post: 03 March 2010 - 01:33 PM Rate Topic: ****- 1 Votes

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

C char pointer

Posted 28 February 2010 - 11:28 AM

Hi everyone,
I am new to C and I have this very simple code:

#include <stdio.h>
char *name;

int main (void){
	 name = "Hello";

printf("name has the value %p and points to %d and is stored at %p\n", name, *name, (void *)&name);

name = "Josh";

printf("name has the value %p and points to %p and is stored at %p\n", name, *name, (void *)&name);

return 0;
}

Can someone explain to me the exact differences of name, &name and *name?
What I know so far is that &name contains the memory address of the pointer itself.
But what about name and *name?
*name SHOULD contain the memory address of the place it points to and name should contain the same as well...
But if I compile and run it I get different "numbers"..What exactly is happening?

Thank you in advance

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: C char pointer

• g++ jameson.cpp -o beverage
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: C char pointer

Posted 28 February 2010 - 12:08 PM

POPULAR

Usually this is cut and dry with most primitive pointer types, but with char, there's a little "fuzziness" because it's how C represents strings.

A piece at a time [I'm going to use C++ style comments for easier readability]:

char* name; //declares a pointer whose space is allocated on the stack (4 bytes usually)
//at this point it points to nothing.

name = "Hello"; //the pointer now points to stack memory (i.e. not dynamic/heap) "Hello" usually done at compile time
//another way to look at this is

name[0] = 'H'
name[1] = 'e'
//etc...

// printf()
// %p is pointer address
// so 'name' here prints the address of what the pointer is holding, 
// if you wanted the actual address of the pointer you'd need to do &name 
// when you do *name it returns the contents of the pointer  [dereferencing]