Help improving code efficiency

My code works, but it's slow. Your thoughts and critique.

Page 1 of 1

1 Replies - 813 Views - Last Post: 02 March 2010 - 03:30 AM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Help improving code efficiency

Posted 01 March 2010 - 11:17 PM

I'm trying to speed up this program, any thoughts? For now I'm working on changing the for loops into sentinel controlled while loops.

The documentation I read suggested that urlopen can be slow, but I doubt rewriting this program in a threaded fashion would help.

Also, if you see anything that seems off in the programming, let me know; I'm self taught, and my work doesn't get critiqued very often.

#This contains the functions for scraping jobs section of the moffitt website

from urllib import *
from re import *

#This function takes a url and returns the html source

def getHTML(url):
    urlBuffer = urlopen(url)
    HTML = urlBuffer.read()
    urlBuffer.close()
    return HTML

#This function takes the main moffitt URL and turns it into the
#individual job URLs

#This function also strips off trailing 's 
def getMoffittURLs(self):
    x = findall('http://tbe.taleo.net/NA4/ats/careers/requisition.*\'',self)
    x = map (lambda y : y.replace('\'',''),x)
    return x

#function to determind if requirements are out of bounds 
def isAble(cleanSourceCode):
    #to lower
    cleanSourceCode = removeTags(cleanSourceCode)
    able = True
    notAble = "m.d. nurse phd".split()
    for i in range(len(notAble)):
        if notAble[i] in cleanSourceCode.lower():
            able = False
    return able

#removes html tags
def removeTags(feed):
	p= compile(r'<.*?>')
	return p.sub('',feed)

#returns the title 
def getTitle (feed):
    a= findall('<td colspan=2><b>.*</b>',feed)
    a=removeTags(str(a))
    return a

def main ():
    mUrl ='http://tbe.taleo.net/NA4/ats/careers/searchResults.jsp?org=MOFFITT&cws=1'
    html = getHTML(mUrl)
    links = getMoffittURLs(html)
    for i in links: