Login using a swipe card in desktop application

Page 1 of 1

3 Replies - 5462 Views - Last Post: 19 March 2010 - 04:47 AM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

swipe card login

Posted 10 March 2010 - 09:20 AM

Hi,

I am developing an desktop application using c#.
I need a log in system using a swipe card. I am quite new to these kind of programming. I don't know how these kind of machines is handled by a c#? What is the logic behind?
It would be very helpful if any one can help me with a detailed answer.

Thanks in advance
Dileep
Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: swipe card login

• D.I.C Regular
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: swipe card login

Posted 10 March 2010 - 09:41 AM

Without knowing what type of swipe card machine your using and/or how it connects it would be hard to help.

I can imagine it working one of two ways. Either it will work as an input device that may be able to represented by a text box or it will work as a serial device meaning you will have to talk to it using the Serial classes available in the framework.

I think (and I could be wrong since I have never done this) if you just have the cursor in an ordinary text box and scan a bar code using a bar code scanner it will type in the bar code number in text form automatically there could be a small chance it would work similarly on a smart card reader.

[rules][/rules]
Was This Post Helpful? 1
  • +
  • -

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Posted 18 March 2010 - 11:54 PM

View Postdanny_kay1710, on 10 March 2010 - 08:41 AM, said:

Without knowing what type of swipe card machine your using and/or how it connects it would be hard to help.

I can imagine it working one of two ways. Either it will work as an input device that may be able to represented by a text box or it will work as a serial device meaning you will have to talk to it using the Serial classes available in the framework.