Having trouble wrapping my head around this

Developing a webpage and the steps of the process

Page 1 of 1

14 Replies - 885 Views - Last Post: 16 March 2010 - 04:47 PM

• D.I.C Addict

• View blog

Having trouble wrapping my head around this

Posted 14 March 2010 - 07:28 PM

Ok, so let me start by saying I'm a VB6 programmer and I have been studying HTML, CSS, PHP, Javascript and SQL. These languages are learnable and with enough Q&A I could make them do what I want. I am having a problem wrapping my head around the process though. Obviously I'm going to start by making a page with HTML. Then I put in the PHP aspects that I want such as a login script. I am going to have to use CSS (z-index) for the image positioning that I want as well). This stuff I am currently learning. But if I wanted to have something that I could post news to. Obviously I don't want to have to re-code everytime that news is going to be posted. I'll make a form, similar to whats hear, and tell it where to post the news but in the process should I be saving the news to a database somewhere? How do I tell my page that when I hit Submit I want this to show up at the top of the page. Could someone give me an idea of where I can do some research on interactive websites. I want to make something interactive for my guests but the whole concept seems hard for me to grasp and I don't really know why. Thanks in advance for your help and advice.

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Having trouble wrapping my head around this

• Pragmatism over Dogma
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Having trouble wrapping my head around this

Posted 14 March 2010 - 09:19 PM

I wouldn't be the best at this due to lack of serious php knowledge but here we go.

Yes, you should put everything in a database, and submit it using a rich text editor such as the one you see here, but there are quite a few that are free so don't bother reinventing the wheel to that note.