How easy will it be to learn a second language

know Java well- can I apply for an internship that requires C?

Page 1 of 1

3 Replies - 1048 Views - Last Post: 16 March 2010 - 05:18 PM

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

How easy will it be to learn a second language

Posted 16 March 2010 - 02:24 PM

Hi. I hope that this is in the correct forum. If not, please feel free to move it. Anyway, I am a Sophomore CS major and so far am extremely proficient in java, which is the language of choice for my University for underclassmen. I am considering applying for the Google Summer of Code this summer, but as I have no experience in other languages (except BASIC, which doesn't count) I was wondering if I am limited to only projects that use that language? What do you think? Would I be able to quickly pick up the syntax for another OO language, or maybe even a language with a different paradigm? Thank you very much for your answer.

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: How easy will it be to learn a second language

• Like a lollipop
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: How easy will it be to learn a second language

Posted 16 March 2010 - 02:54 PM

it depend on what programs you have to write but yes. in my option if you learn the rules and basics and have the thinking as programmer learning second language is easy. in your case Java syntax is similar to C and you can learn C pretty easy. i suggest you to write a several programs on C before posting for jobs on C just to get use to it. Practice is everything :)

This post has been edited by NoBrain: 16 March 2010 - 02:57 PM

Was This Post Helpful? 1
  • +
  • -

• "ADDICTED"[2:5]
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 16 March 2010 - 05:08 PM

(except BASIC, which doesn't count)