9 Replies - 7257 Views - Last Post: 22 March 2010 - 02:54 PM

#1 Guest_curioComp*

how does haskell pass parameters?

Posted 17 March 2010 - 07:37 AM

hi,
how does haskell pass parameters to a function and how does it return them? is it by reference or by value?
thank you!
Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0

Replies To: how does haskell pass parameters?

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

Re: how does haskell pass parameters?

Posted 17 March 2010 - 09:20 PM

View PostcurioComp, on 17 March 2010 - 06:37 AM, said:

hi,
how does haskell pass parameters to a function and how does it return them? is it by reference or by value?
thank you!

I am new to haskell but my guess is I don't think it would because it is a lazy language and tries to avoid evaluating things as much as possible. However, keep in mind that variables once declared do not change (at least to my understanding). Therefore, if you impose strict evaluation of an input argument and only make a small change to the input data structure then the likely result I presume would be creating a close copy of the old variable. Therefore, I presume that under some circumstances you would still get the inefficiencies of pass by value. I guess it would be up to the compiler to avoid duplication of data as much as possible but I also presume that how practical this is will depend on how you structure your code.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• (cons :dic :head)

• View blog

Posted 18 March 2010 - 04:19 PM

Haskell is a purely functional language which means there are no side effects to functions. Parameters will always be passed by value.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

Posted 18 March 2010 - 04:28 PM

View Postprogramble, on 18 March 2010 - 03:19 PM, said:

Haskell is a purely functional language which means there are no side effects to functions. Parameters will always be passed by value.