Rounding whole numbers (Integers)

College program assignment

Page 1 of 1

9 Replies - 11838 Views - Last Post: 18 March 2010 - 01:52 PM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Rounding whole numbers (Integers)

Posted 17 March 2010 - 07:28 PM

Hello, everyone, I'm a college student, working on a small project, and I'm having some trouble understanding the Round command on VB. The project is very simple and straight forward, just a simple Bail Bonds program to calculate the bail plus a 10% fee. However, i want to integrate a kind of "promotion", where for every $1000 of the bail cost, $5 would be deducted. I know the formula for this, which is reasonable simple, i just need to know how to round the Bail variable to the nearest 1000 so i can do this calculation. Any suggestions and further help would be much appreciated.

Thank you for your time.

PS: I'm currently running Visual Studio 2008 Professional on Windows 7 Professional. Not sure if that will be significant, but there it is. :)

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Rounding whole numbers (Integers)

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

Re: Rounding whole numbers (Integers)

Posted 17 March 2010 - 07:54 PM

You'll have to post at least an attempt at code before any is given to you directly - your homework won't be done for you.

But think of it this way: you're trying to figure out how many "thousand"s your number contains. 1031 contains one, 2914 contains two, 7400 contains 7, etc. Think of it in a very simple manner: start at zero, and move up to your number in increments of one thousand using, for example, a For-Next loop.

I'll give another hint: if you do it as I just described, the variable you increment by (typically represented by a letter such as "i"), when divided by one thousand, will give you the "number of thousands" it contains.

Edit: Alternatively, you could simply divide your number by 1000, and remove everything after the decimal point... I believe that would work as well.