Checking Efficiency

Clock/Machine Cycles

Page 1 of 1

4 Replies - 2510 Views - Last Post: 23 March 2010 - 10:18 PM Rate Topic: -----

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

Checking Efficiency

Posted 23 March 2010 - 01:03 PM

To those of you who have been programing for even as little as a year, it is fairly safe to say that you have all written a NonrepeatingRandomGenerator. I'm a 5 year programmer and I have decided to come back to the subject. However in this case I have written two completely different classes that accomplish the same non repeating random task. After completion of the two classes I decided to compare their efficiencies. Intially, I started out measuring the elapsed time for each class in equivalent tests. I did this by using the Calendar.getInstance().getTimeInMills() method and referenced the beginning time versus the ending time to calculate the elapsed time. This method works, however, after some thought I realized that this testing method is vulnerable to endogenous error. Background tasks that operate on my computer may inadvertently cause a time to be misrepresented. In a obvious solution to this problem I decided that counting the machine cycles of the thread would be more accurate. However when I attempted to research a way to accomplish this, all I could find was impertinent material... Is anyone familiar with a way to count machine/clock cycles in Java?

Thanks,
Stauffski

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Checking Efficiency

#2 macosxnerd101  Icon User is online

• Self-Trained Economist
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Checking Efficiency

Posted 23 March 2010 - 01:22 PM