Page 1 of 1

7 Replies - 27828 Views - Last Post: 29 May 2015 - 03:35 PM

• D.I.C Head
  • member icon

• View blog

While statements vs if statements

Posted 29 March 2010 - 04:32 PM

Hello again,

I'm sure this question applies to many other languages, but since the only one I really know anything about is C#, I figured I'd post this question here.
So I was kind of curious today and figured that I would learn about while statements.(I probably should have hit this topic when I started learning, but the book I used never mentioned them and I had never heard about them until a couple weeks ago.) After googling what a while statement is, I came upon the Microsoft C# Library page. When I looked at how it was used I noticed it seemed very much like if statements. Then, after seeing the example I thought "Well that could be just as easily done with an if statement". I became a bit confused as to why there would be 2 statements that are so similar. I hope you all at DIC can help me better understand the difference between the two.

So I guess what I'm asking is, what can be done with a while statement that can not be done with an if statement, and vice versa. What are the benefits of while, and what are the benefits of if?
Once again, thank you all!

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: While statements vs if statements

• D.I.C Addict
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: While statements vs if statements

Posted 29 March 2010 - 04:40 PM

They are two very different things.

An if statement checks if an expression is true, or false, and then runs the code inside the statement. The code is run once.

A while statement is a loop. It continues to execute the code in the statement as long as the expression is true.

It's hard to compare the pros/cons of the two, since they do two separate things.

This post has been edited by lesPaul456: 29 March 2010 - 08:06 PM

Was This Post Helpful? 3
  • +
  • -

• D.I.C Head
  • member icon

• View blog