Why is Flash So Buggy?

Who's to blame: Adobe or Flash developers?

Page 1 of 1

6 Replies - 5872 Views - Last Post: 21 April 2010 - 05:54 PM

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

Why is Flash So Buggy?

Posted 31 March 2010 - 12:07 PM

I've been trying to keep up with the Internet's general feelings about the future of web development, and something that I hear often are complaints about how buggy Adobe's Flash player is. I've never programmed in Flash or ActionScript before, so I don't know much about it. I stick to mostly PHP/AJAX stuff. But, it seems like some people have a personal vendetta against Flash. Some are even willing to go to any costs to kill it--even to go as far as advocating HTML 5 as being the replacement for Flash.

I guess that this is what I really want to know:

Is Adobe to blame for the bugginess, or are the bugs result of poorly developed Flash applications?

And why does it seem like there's a new security hole discovered in Flash every week or so? Why is it so vulnerable?

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Why is Flash So Buggy?

• #include "soul.h"
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Why is Flash So Buggy?

Posted 31 March 2010 - 03:03 PM

Most of the time it is because the developer doesn't know what they are doing. It causes them to try to have too much going on at one time, or to go about animations in a dumb way (for instance having each animated object have its own event listener for enter frame, at which point they are queue up and go about their animations. If there are enough objects in the queue it is possible they won't all finish updating before the next frame has been entered. This causes issues). I have seen some applications developed in flash and run in the browser that run better then desktop applications, but for the most part people who make flash apps don't know a ton about what they are doing and don't seem to care about efficiency.