The Calendar Class...

... is driving me insane.

Page 1 of 1

14 Replies - 2999 Views - Last Post: 04 June 2006 - 01:34 AM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

The Calendar Class...

Post icon  Posted 02 June 2006 - 10:34 PM

I'm working on an assignment and am hopelessly stuck. I've tried plenty of things but just can't wrap my head around how to do this. I'm new here as you can tell from my post-count. I'm also new to Java and am only weeks into my intro comp sci class with Java.

I'm stuck on what the assignment page calls the second "iteration" of this program. The description here is as follows:

CalendarCalculator02.java: Start with all of your code from CalendarCalculator01. You will next obtain 2 Calendar objects (for the 2 days) using that class's static factory method, and set the month, day, and year of each of the two days into it's respective Calendar object. Next, you will create at least 2 SimpleDateFormat objects, to help create the correct style of formatted output (e.g. "January 29, 1998" or "Thursday"). Finally, you will create the print statements to output each of the 2 dates. These print statements will be created using the format method of SimpleDateFormat to dictate how to display each Calendar object. Finally, you will use an accessor method on Calendar to obtain the week of the year.

The italic part is what I'm stuck on. I've read the Calendar Class API about a thousand times now and it's just not making any sense to my noobish Java mind. I use Eclipse for coding (and want to take a look at IntelliJ's IDEA just out of curiosity..), but using Eclipse's debug perspective I discovered that all those field values defined at the top of the Calendar API page are defined the moment I create an object of type Calendar. It's all based on the "now", the current time. I am to use an accessor method of Calendar to get the "week of year" as an integer, I suppose, and I just don't see how I can do that.