10 Replies - 2698 Views - Last Post: 13 April 2010 - 04:17 AM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Programming funny?

Posted 07 April 2010 - 12:47 PM

For some time now I've wanted to start programming, but I didn't find the motivation for getting me going. Nor did I find a good book for beginners (never programmed before. After a lot of thinking about which language to choose, after telling some guys what I really wanted to do I have decided to learn C#. What do you guys think about this language? What do you think about programming in general? Is it fun? I hope programming gets to be funny when I've learned the basics and such. From a total noob's point, it doesn't seem that funny when looking at code.

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Programming funny?

• Not Your Ordinary Programmer
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Programming funny?

Posted 07 April 2010 - 01:01 PM

At times it can be great and fun, and other times it can be frustrating.

Funny? Well you aren't going to be laughing all day. You will laugh later on when you look back at some of your old code and think "what the hell was I thinking?". You might laugh at other's code.

It takes a special kind of mind to be a programmer. It's not something that anybody and everybody can do.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• D.I.C Lover
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 07 April 2010 - 01:05 PM

Trust me, the first language you learn is the hardest. Once you get the first down, learning another is a piece of cake.

You really have to push through though, and force yourself to practice the concepts, write code until it breaks, and then fix it again. I know this sounds corny, but you really have to apply yourself. Don't get too frustrated if you don't understand something at once (pointers in C took me a few tries to learn).

Once you get beyond that initial hurdle, programming becomes fun (no, I'm not just saying that ;) ). Trust me, stick with it, and you'll grow to love it.