How much do I need to know to get a job?

I have a computer science degree

Page 1 of 1

4 Replies - 4528 Views - Last Post: 13 April 2010 - 04:14 AM

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

How much do I need to know to get a job?

Posted 09 April 2010 - 06:00 AM

Hello, I graduated in November of last year. I have a bachelors of science in computer science. But the last classes I took where not programming classes. It's been over six months since I really programmed and I have forgotten much of my programming. But I still remember what some ideas and concepts are(pointers, abstract data types, object oriented programming, polymorphism, inheritence etc.). How much do I need to know to get a job? As I understand most places will train you so is it necessary to have programming skills to be as good as they were when I graduated?

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: How much do I need to know to get a job?

• D.I.C Head
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: How much do I need to know to get a job?

Posted 09 April 2010 - 12:08 PM

The positions I see posted lately have as requirements everything but the kitchen sink. I'm not sure what is going on. I think there are still several applicants for every position so they are fishing trying to get as much as possible for their dollar...
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

Posted 09 April 2010 - 01:10 PM

This much |---------------|

It completely depends on their requirements, junior programmer or something typically has the lowest requirements qualification wise.

I guess you could estimate by the salary, no one will be paying 50k+ a year for someone with average programming experience IMO.
Was This Post Helpful? 1
  • +
  • -

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

Posted 09 April 2010 - 10:13 PM

View PostBacanze, on 09 April 2010 - 12:10 PM, said:

This much |---------------|