8 Replies - 884 Views - Last Post: 27 July 2012 - 04:38 AM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Geographical Location from IP?

Posted 13 April 2010 - 06:27 PM

Can anyone tell me the best approach to use in order to ascertain a website visitors's Geographical location in order to direct them to an appropriate homepage?
I imagine that I would have to scan a database of IP addresses, but where is it and how do I pick out the Country / State / Province / County / Shire... etc.,
Thanks in anticipation...
P.S.
This is my first time of actually using DIC and I am extremely impressed - much more fun than Facebook!

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Geographical Location from IP?

• D.I.C Regular
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Geographical Location from IP?

Posted 14 April 2010 - 07:52 AM

You're right, you will have to populate a list in a database (and quite a large one from what I've seen). http://ip-to-country...fo/book/print/5 should get you started on your quest :)
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• I make this look good
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 14 April 2010 - 08:21 AM

Two popular services:

GeoBytes IP Address Locator tool

IP2Location

Now, that first link told me I was in the Chicago area...and I'm really northwest of Atlanta, GA. The second one was much more accurate. Lesson to learn here is that while you can make use of these services (and some of them can be accessed as a web service) the accuracy of the data isn't 100%. I'd use if for trivia purposes or as a starting guess for a user's location as opposed to it being the rock solid definitive location.

Good luck!
Was This Post Helpful? 1
  • +
  • -

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Posted 14 April 2010 - 10:57 AM

Wow! Craig328 and jrm402, thanks for the informative and prompt answers! I love this site!
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

Posted 15 April 2010 - 02:55 PM

View PostJiminSA, on 14 April 2010 - 11:57 AM, said: