5 Replies - 3958 Views - Last Post: 15 April 2010 - 11:51 AM Rate Topic: -----

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

can a zip file be stored in a sql database

Posted 14 April 2010 - 11:23 PM

hello all,

im a student and doing a project to automate a process. For which i ve to download files from clients site.. my doubt is can zip files be stored in sql database. if its possible means how can i achieve this..

need help!

good day.
Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: can a zip file be stored in a sql database

• D.I.C Lover
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: can a zip file be stored in a sql database

Posted 15 April 2010 - 05:36 AM

Quick answer is no.

Now for the more informative answer.

You do not physically store images,videos,zips, etc in a database. What you would need to do is create a folder structure to download to and then store the path to that folder in the database.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• D.I.C Regular
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 15 April 2010 - 05:40 AM

Well actually you technically could store it within the database BUT you would need to convert the file into a base64 string first then store it in a TEXT field that didn't have a length restriction.

Some databases also support binary fields which can be used for Pictures I think even Access can be configured in this way but I could be wrong.

Take a look at the System.Text.Encoding namespace. It may help you find out how to convert to Base64

NOTE: if the files are going to be big, I would strongly advise against storing into a database. Base64 will make the file bigger in terms of storage requirements

This post has been edited by danny_kay1710: 15 April 2010 - 05:42 AM

Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• D.I.C Regular
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 15 April 2010 - 09:53 AM

View Postdjlakshmi, on 14 April 2010 - 10:23 PM, said:

hello all,