c++ game dev software for imac

Page 1 of 1

5 Replies - 2495 Views - Last Post: 19 April 2010 - 08:53 AM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Game Development software For imac

Posted 17 April 2010 - 06:30 AM

Greetings avid elites,
As one can avidly see i am a newb and i dream of breaming in to the gaming dev industry. Unfortunately i have no knowledge of anything programming. Well maybe that is an understatement i have some mediocre knowledge and this fall i am enrolled in a gaming and simulations course offered at my college. Well my biggest concern is that i have an Imac and even though it has Xcode on it already i was looking for something a little more situated for straight game development. But i have absolutely no idea of where to go or what i should be looking for, my internet researching keeps turning up nil so i decided to ask the elite. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Game Development software For imac

#2 modi123_1  Icon User is online

• Suitor #2
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Game Development software For imac

Posted 17 April 2010 - 04:41 PM

I would highly suggest starting with learning 'how to' program first.. loops, variables, structures, and what have you. C++ would be the best option. Once you know the basics of programming then branching out into languages more specific for game development (which c++ is a part of) is much more easy. Focus on the building blocks first.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• D.I.C Regular

• View blog

Posted 17 April 2010 - 04:59 PM

Normally, I'd recommend getting a foothold in C# via the XNA framework first for comparative ease of game development, but since you're on a Mac, the best real "game development" platform you're going to get is Unity, and it's only 3D games. I could also recommend Torque, but you'd be locked in Torque for the rest of your career, since Torque only runs on TorqueScript.