how to run a process on a web/app server

Page 1 of 1

6 Replies - 1282 Views - Last Post: 20 April 2010 - 05:14 AM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

newbie question about web app programming/design

Posted 19 April 2010 - 01:27 AM

Hi,
I'm a veteran C++/SQL programmer (server) on both windows and unix, but I have no clue in web programming.

I need to write an application that collects data about stocks values once a day and insert those values to a DB.
my problem is that the application has to run as part of a website, so I guess C++ is not an option here.

my questions are:
1. we'll have a dedicated web host server (windows, since the UI will be developed in ASP.NET), what language should I use to build such an application (is C# a good one?) , and how do I even run an application on a web server environemnt?

2. can I can standalone application on a web server hosting env? or must it be somehow integrated into the web/application server software (IIS)?

3. how do I run the app once a day? (in tradional programming it can be done via a sleep or crontab)

4. how do I extract data from stock-related websites? I saw that sites like MSN money central, yahoo finance and google finance provide the data I need, but I have no idea how to get it programmatically.

if you can answer or point me in the right direction, that would be great.

Thanks in advance.

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: newbie question about web app programming/design

• I make this look good
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: newbie question about web app programming/design

Posted 19 April 2010 - 06:27 AM

Well, my experience is with Coldfusion which can run on .NET servers.

If I were tasked with your project I'd code a website with a simple interface for users to navigate around and a second module to run as a scheduled task to call a web services feed to give me the stock pricing info.