5 Replies - 3086 Views - Last Post: 07 May 2010 - 08:06 PM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Computer science jobs...

Posted 07 May 2010 - 02:55 PM

Hi,
I apologize if I am posting my question in a wrong forum...
I am a second year computer science student... I am not really good at programming... I am trying my best to improve my programming skills this summer ...
I would really appreciate it if someone could list some positions for a computer science graduate that does not require a lot of (or complicated) programming...
Do all the computer science jobs require programming???
Thanks

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Computer science jobs...

• Saucy!
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Computer science jobs...

Posted 07 May 2010 - 03:04 PM

Moved to Corner Cubicle.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• D.I.C Regular
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 07 May 2010 - 03:24 PM

Do all the computer science jobs require programming???

My answer to your question is if a job related to computer science doesn't require programming, then it requires knowledge about programming. Typically a project manager or consultant may not actually do the programming, but they most likely have programmed before and have a lot of experience programming complex projects which I think is necessary to be in a project management position.

Learning how to program is difficult. There definitely is a steep learning curve. As a programmer I can tell you that you're always going to have to learn new things, but it gets easier once you understand the concept of programming.

My advice to you is that if you're just worried because you're not good at it right now, but you honestly do like learning how to write software then to hang in there. It takes practice and dedication. If you honestly just don't like it, then you should consider studying something else. Maybe just do a minor in computer science and major in something that you would enjoy,...