4 Replies - 3027 Views - Last Post: 10 May 2010 - 04:40 AM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Game Engine for my Final Year Project

Posted 09 May 2010 - 11:13 AM

Hi guys,
I'm a Software Engineering student and I have decided to build a game engine for my final year project, I have to make my decision and start it exactly one year from now and I'll have ~7 months to finish it.

I've built a simple platform game engine with ActionScript 3.0 recently and it was successful (it was my first ever ActionScript programming and I used only and only Adobe’s official AS3.0 reference), since I finished it, everyday some new solutions and ideas comes to my mind and I think I will be able to build a full game engine with AS3.0 (and Java for the engine’s UI) for my Final Year Project.

But my question is that do you think it is really worth it to do my project with AS 3.0 and Flash? I have looked at some books about AS2.0 and AS3.0 and one of the most disappointing things about AS and Flash for me was that even the authors of some popular books doesn't have a clear idea about programming and object oriented design, most of them (at least the ones that I saw) just do some routine coding to finish the job and that's not a good thing for me at all since it is supposed to be a university project that officially makes me a Software Engineer! So I'm a little unsure about whether is it a right choice or not to use AS3.0?

What is your opinion about a SilverLight game engine (using C# and Microsoft’s Expression Studio)?

I really really want to get into video games industry and I really really want to get into a top university for my Master's degree, so I need my project to be something that shows my programming and problem solving skills.

So in short words: What would you do if you were in my place?

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Game Engine for my Final Year Project

• D.I.C Regular

• View blog

Re: Game Engine for my Final Year Project