FORTRAN FUN.

I can't believe it...

Page 1 of 1

12 Replies - 4154 Views - Last Post: 23 September 2007 - 04:51 AM Rate Topic: -----

• code.ninja
  • member icon

• View blog

FORTRAN FUN.

Posted 17 July 2006 - 05:38 PM

So, I'm an aspiring aerospace engineer, and miraculously (seemingly) my mom sat beside a current aero engineer on her plane ride today. She said that, while "modern" languages are nice, she (and other engineers, apparently) is still using Fortran. I was under the impression that such a dinosaur was, for all intents and purposes, dead.

So, does anything think that the engineering community in general would still be using Fortran? Do you think it would be worth learning? If so, anyone know any resources for it (I haven't had a chance to check our Resources section, but I'm doubtful since we don't have a forum for it....) for the web or otherwise that might help me get a leg up on it?

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: FORTRAN FUN.

• The Innocent Shall Suffer, Big Time
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: FORTRAN FUN.

Posted 17 July 2006 - 05:53 PM

alot of old people use fortran, no thanks for me though

seriously, people still use it a lot, its real fast for math applications, and is decently high enough you aren't speaking machine.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• g+ + -o drink whiskey.cpp
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 17 July 2006 - 05:58 PM

You may find it useful to learn, you may not. Fortran (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fortran) was specifically developed for numerical and scientific computation. While there has been a decided drop in it's use among certified engineers in the last number of years, it will certainly be around a while longer. It is quite fast (although well written c++ is just as fast), but also has the advantage of being quite simplt to learn for non programmers with a mathmatical or scientific background (this is one of the main reasons it has endured).