Major problem connecting

Connection problems

  • (2 Pages)
  • +
  • 1
  • 2

24 Replies - 4067 Views - Last Post: 21 July 2006 - 07:42 AM

#1 corraomonster  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 13
  • Joined: 19-July 06

Major problem connecting

Posted 19 July 2006 - 12:02 PM

Okay, today i bought 2 sticks of 512mb ram for my Dell computer, was the correct speed and everything and inserted it into my computer. I bumbed the video card, but thought it would be fine so i tested turning it on. It was a no go, so i unscrewed the video card bracket thing, and took out the vid card, put it back in and tested it. it worked fine, the ram was installed and running, except for one thing:

I could not connect to the internet! i have broadband internet that is sent thru a 4 port router and then to a few different computers. What it says in the bottom right hand corner is that it is connecting and "Acquiring Network Address..." And 3 seconds or so later it will say "A network cable has been unplugged" and a few more seconds and it would see "Acquiring Network Address" again, and it would alternate back and forth, never achieving connection.


One possible thing i thought maybe, is that the screw driver tip has a very slight magnetic charge, which i noticed after i dropped it into the computer...

However, the magnetic charge on the small tip (which is the only piece that fell in) is veryy veryyy slight. Almost unnoticable.


What could this problem be?

Please help me, either post here or email me at Corraomonster@hotmail.com

Thanks a bunch.

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Major problem connecting

#2 Mrafcho001  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Addict
  • member icon

Reputation: 41
  • View blog
  • Posts: 769
  • Joined: 01-November 05

Re: Major problem connecting

Posted 19 July 2006 - 12:13 PM

dont worry about the magnetic charge on the screw driver, it shouldn't damage your PC.

Im really not an expert in this field but i've had this happen to me a few times and i just restarted the router on my network and it it seemed to work just fine after that.

Of course make sure all the cables are plugged in the rigth spots.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#3 corraomonster  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 13
  • Joined: 19-July 06

Re: Major problem connecting

Posted 19 July 2006 - 12:19 PM

View PostMrafcho001, on 19 Jul, 2006 - 11:05 AM, said:

dont worry about the magnetic charge on the screw driver, it shouldn't damage your PC.

Im really not an expert in this field but i've had this happen to me a few times and i just restarted the router on my network and it it seemed to work just fine after that.

Of course make sure all the cables are plugged in the rigth spots.



Done that about 10000x's.

restarted the comp a whole bunch too, cables are in the right spots.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#4 skyhawk133  Icon User is offline

  • Head DIC Head
  • member icon

Reputation: 1877
  • View blog
  • Posts: 20,284
  • Joined: 17-March 01

Re: Major problem connecting

Posted 19 July 2006 - 12:26 PM

Are you getting link lights on your network card? What about link lights on the router? Have you tried pulling the network card rebooting, re-inserting the network card and rebooting once again?
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#5 corraomonster  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 13
  • Joined: 19-July 06

Re: Major problem connecting

Posted 19 July 2006 - 12:29 PM

View Postskyhawk133, on 19 Jul, 2006 - 11:18 AM, said:

Are you getting link lights on your network card? What about link lights on the router? Have you tried pulling the network card rebooting, re-inserting the network card and rebooting once again?


I am getting lights where i plug in the cord. Lights on the router, im going to check, repost in a minute.


Is the network card right next to/ near the video card?
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#6 corraomonster  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 13
  • Joined: 19-July 06

Re: Major problem connecting

Posted 19 July 2006 - 12:32 PM

The light is NOT blinking on the router.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#7 Jayman  Icon User is offline

  • Student of Life
  • member icon

Reputation: 418
  • View blog
  • Posts: 9,532
  • Joined: 26-December 05

Re: Major problem connecting

Posted 19 July 2006 - 12:38 PM

Quote

i have broadband internet that is sent thru a 4 port router and then to a few different computers


Can any of the other computers connect to the internet still?
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#8 corraomonster  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 13
  • Joined: 19-July 06

Re: Major problem connecting

Posted 19 July 2006 - 12:40 PM

View Postjayman9, on 19 Jul, 2006 - 11:30 AM, said:

Quote

i have broadband internet that is sent thru a 4 port router and then to a few different computers


Can any of the other computers connect to the internet still?


All other computers can connect, even when i take the cord out of my computer, and put the end in another computer, thus making it my computers problem, correct?
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#9 Jayman  Icon User is offline

  • Student of Life
  • member icon

Reputation: 418
  • View blog
  • Posts: 9,532
  • Joined: 26-December 05

Re: Major problem connecting

Posted 19 July 2006 - 12:44 PM

Correct. Just wanted to verify that the problem didn't lie elsewhere.

Can you ping your router?
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#10 corraomonster  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 13
  • Joined: 19-July 06

Re: Major problem connecting

Posted 19 July 2006 - 12:48 PM

View Postjayman9, on 19 Jul, 2006 - 11:36 AM, said:

Correct. Just wanted to verify that the problem didn't lie elsewhere.

Can you ping your router?



What do you mean by that, i apologize, my knowledge of a computer is fairly basic compared to most of you :)

I know what ping means, but i dont know how to do it on my router.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#11 Jayman  Icon User is offline

  • Student of Life
  • member icon

Reputation: 418
  • View blog
  • Posts: 9,532
  • Joined: 26-December 05

Re: Major problem connecting

Posted 19 July 2006 - 12:50 PM

You may want to see if windows can establish a connection for you by running the Network Setup Wizard in the Conrol Panel. It may fix any file issues that may be part of the problem, if its an OS related problem.

You could also try releasing your current IP address and having it renewed. That has worked for me in the past.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#12 corraomonster  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 13
  • Joined: 19-July 06

Re: Major problem connecting

Posted 19 July 2006 - 12:52 PM

View Postjayman9, on 19 Jul, 2006 - 11:42 AM, said:

You may want to see if windows can establish a connection for you by running the Network Setup Wizard in the Conrol Panel. It may fix any file issues that may be part of the problem, if its an OS related problem.

You could also try releasing your current IP address and having it renewed. That has worked for me in the past.



How do i release my current IP and renew it?
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#13 Jayman  Icon User is offline

  • Student of Life
  • member icon

Reputation: 418
  • View blog
  • Posts: 9,532
  • Joined: 26-December 05

Re: Major problem connecting

Posted 19 July 2006 - 12:55 PM

View Postcorraomonster, on 19 Jul, 2006 - 11:40 AM, said:

What do you mean by that, i apologize, my knowledge of a computer is fairly basic compared to most of you :)

I know what ping means, but i dont know how to do it on my router.

Open a command window, by going the the Run on your start menu. Type in cmd, then click ok. A command window will open, type ping 192.168.1.1 it will put some text on the screen as it attempts to communicate with the router.

Post a reply and paste the text into the reply.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#14 Jayman  Icon User is offline

  • Student of Life
  • member icon

Reputation: 418
  • View blog
  • Posts: 9,532
  • Joined: 26-December 05

Re: Major problem connecting

Posted 19 July 2006 - 12:59 PM

Quote

How do i release my current IP and renew it?


Same deal here open a command window like I described. Only this time type in ipconfig /release. After it releases, then type at the prompt ipconfig /renew.

This will cause windows to aquire a new IP address for you computer. Sometimes that can be the problem.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#15 corraomonster  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 13
  • Joined: 19-July 06

Re: Major problem connecting

Posted 19 July 2006 - 01:10 PM

View Postjayman9, on 19 Jul, 2006 - 11:51 AM, said:

Quote

How do i release my current IP and renew it?


Same deal here open a command window like I described. Only this time type in ipconfig /release. After it releases, then type at the prompt ipconfig /renew.

This will cause windows to aquire a new IP address for you computer. Sometimes that can be the problem.



For the pinging:

Destination host unreachable
Destination host unreachable
Destination host unreachable
Destination host unreachable
Packets sent: 4 Recieved: 0 Lost: 4 (100% loss)


and for the ipconfig /release and /renew

it said that it could not configure because the network is disconnected
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

  • (2 Pages)
  • +
  • 1
  • 2