Page Load time is very slow!

Page load time very slow

Page 1 of 1

5 Replies - 3022 Views - Last Post: 13 May 2010 - 03:31 AM

#1 Guest_Emily*

Page Load time is very slow!

Posted 12 May 2010 - 09:05 AM

Hi, I am a graphic and web designer, and know a little about my html and css code but nothing much about php, javascript etc. I have used Wordpress CMS to create a site for a charity and they needed a lot of functionality, which has meant adding a lot of plugins, this in turn has made the site run stupidly slowly, the url is www.sandblast-arts.org/sanddune.

I have looked at many forums as to how to fix this and they either get too technical, or the stuff I can do, such as add WP Super Cache, CSS Compress, WP Optimize and WP Smush to it which are all plugins recommended to speed up your wordpress, it still runs very slowly. Does anyone have any suggestions of what I can do to decrease the load time on this? I have used YSlow for Firefox and run it through a site to see what is making it so slow, and I understand there are too many HTTP requests, but most of it is too techie and I don't have a clue how to resolve it. I understand you can compile all your javascript together in the one file? I have so many javascript files and css files because of the sheer amount of plugin's I don't know where to begin :(

Basically some advice from a techie to a non-techie would be great! Unfortuntely I can not reduce the amount of plugins because the charity needs them all

Thanks in advance for any help on this!

Emily x

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0

Replies To: Page Load time is very slow!

• Head DIC Head
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Page Load time is very slow!

Posted 12 May 2010 - 09:12 AM

Hi Emily!

I think the main question would be where is your site hosted? On a shared host? VPS? Dedicated server?

And how many visitors is it handling an hour or day?
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#3 Guest_Emily*

Posted 12 May 2010 - 09:25 AM

Hi skyhawk!