14 Replies - 14443 Views - Last Post: 27 December 2012 - 07:38 AM

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

C# Calculator

Posted 12 May 2010 - 01:39 PM

Hope this is the right forum for posting code examples. If not, please redirect me to the correct forum.

I am completely new to C# and OOP programming as a whole. As my first project, I decided to make a calculator. I based the display off of the standard TI 30 calculators, so when you click "log", the word log actually shows up in the equation. Anyways, just wanted a bit of feedback on what everyone thought about my first project. The code is a bit messy; if you have any coding style suggestions, I am open to hear them.

Attached File(s)

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: C# Calculator

• Software Engineer
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: C# Calculator

Posted 12 May 2010 - 08:34 PM

I looked at it out of curiosity and was pleased to see readable code for a change.

Your coding style is fine. The code documented itself for the most part. A comment or two describing each function and you'll be good.

The GUI wasn't spectacular. I would have done the same thing considering it's only a calculator.

One thing that jumped out at me was getting an error message if you didn't close the parenthesis will using one of the functions. (i.e. log(5 = )
I would suggest checking for unclosed parenthesis' and adding them before evaluating the equation.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

Posted 13 May 2010 - 12:34 AM

not bad, you can always improve it as well, i took a look on the code and i believe you can make it shorter it will be a good practice for you, for example when i saw this code

switch(ctrl.Text)
{
	case "/":
		switch(textBox.Text.Substring(textBox.Text.Length - 1))
		{
		case "/":
			return;
		case "*":
			return;
		case "-":
		        return;
		case "+":
			return;
		}
	break;
	case "*":
		{
		case "/":
			return;
		case "*":
			return;
    	        case "-":
			return;