12 Replies - 15843 Views - Last Post: 28 March 2011 - 01:26 AM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Build in an OCR in my application

Posted 16 May 2010 - 03:04 AM

Hi!

I'm trying to build an application wich i can add images to (scanned papers) etc. and get out the text.

But i need help :P

How can i add a OCR libary to my application and how do i get the text from OCR into a textbox? :)

I'm new at this field in coding and i'm just kidding around trying to get better at each aspect of C#.

- Thanks for all answers!

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Build in an OCR in my application

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

Re: Build in an OCR in my application

Posted 16 May 2010 - 04:01 AM

I imagine it's not an easy thing to implement from scratch, however OCR functionality was included in Office 2003, 2007 etc. Luckily you can use the API from MS Word, check out:

http://www.codeproje...ffice/modi.aspx
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Posted 16 May 2010 - 04:14 AM

I was thinking more like how to use example this:

http://www.pixel-tec...eware/tessnet2/
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

Posted 17 May 2010 - 01:37 AM

I have actually built in an OCR engine into my code, it is not very hard... The analysis of a document is a more interesting aspect of OCR'ing. I used the OCR engine of Microsoft Office 2003 (MODI). It has a nice COM interface and is easy to include in your VS project. (Took me about ten minutes to have something working and OCR'ing)

The Tesseract engine still leaks memory if you use it in your main process
See this link. A suitable solution seems to use it in a separate process.