Browser Recommended

How can I create an alert recommending the use of a specific browser?

Page 1 of 1

8 Replies - 783 Views - Last Post: 17 May 2010 - 07:53 PM

#1 Guest_Ian*

Browser Recommended

Posted 17 May 2010 - 03:21 PM

Hi, I'm an extreme novice to web development but I'm pretty sure what I want to do would best be done in PHP.

Basically what I want to do is make an alert that says "Google Chrome Recommended" that appears on my site across the top if someone not using chrome goes to my site which could then be closed.

So, to explain more clearly. If someone goes to my site not using chrome a message would appear across the top (pushing the rest of the site down) that says "chrome recommended" then they can close it and it would push the site back up (since I don't want a big empty space at the top of my site before the header)

If anyone has any information on how this would be done, or a tutorial on how to achieve things like this, or just the code itself then I would really be very very appreciative. Thank you.

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0

Replies To: Browser Recommended

• binary decision maker
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Browser Recommended

Posted 17 May 2010 - 03:28 PM

View PostIan, on 17 May 2010 - 09:21 PM, said:

Hi, I'm an extreme novice to web development but I'm pretty sure what I want to do would best be done in PHP.

Basically what I want to do is make an alert that says "Google Chrome Recommended" that appears on my site across the top if someone not using chrome goes to my site which could then be closed.

So, to explain more clearly. If someone goes to my site not using chrome a message would appear across the top (pushing the rest of the site down) that says "chrome recommended" then they can close it and it would push the site back up (since I don't want a big empty space at the top of my site before the header)