• Last »

64 Replies - 91200 Views - Last Post: 21 January 2014 - 05:10 PM

• Self-Trained Economist
  • member icon

• View blog

Getting Better at Programming (Java)

Post icon  Posted 17 May 2010 - 08:19 PM

POPULAR

While on DIC, I've seen a bunch of threads all asking basically the same thing- how can I get better at programming? The simple truth is that programming takes practice writing and debugging code. It is not something that comes overnight. So for those of you relatively new to (Java) programming, I've outlined a list of topics in a sequence from total novice to advanced programming, with focuses on various aspects of programming from data structures to Graphics to Networking.

I have also included a list of tutorials for most of the topics below. If you have a resource on Dream.in.Code that you feel would add to a given category, shoot me a PM!

Stage 1: You might fall into this category if you've never written a line of code before. Some things I would cover include:

Stage 2: If you have completed all the Stage 1 topics with a decent proficiency or are in the AP Computer Science or comparable class, then you should work on these topics. Note that all of these topics are critical to sucessful programming in Java, so you should have a strong handle on them before going onto stage 3:

Stage 3: If you have completed AP CS or Comparable Course and are proficient with all the above tools, then you may want to start on Stage 3 topics:

Stage 4: This is the advanced stuff, for which you should have a strong understanding of the previous 3 stages:

I'd be happy to update this list with additional topics as good suggestions are posted. :)

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 67
  • +

Replies To: Getting Better at Programming (Java)

• The Ninjaducky
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Getting Better at Programming (Java)

Posted 17 May 2010 - 08:43 PM

Nice categories Mac! I fall into 3 as I'm still learning many of those things.