14 Replies - 4864 Views - Last Post: 03 June 2010 - 12:21 PM

#1 oasisjoel  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Regular

Reputation: 4
  • View blog
  • Posts: 274
  • Joined: 11-September 08

Visual Studio 2010

Posted 25 May 2010 - 08:48 AM

Hi,

Im planning to use VS2010, but I dont know what is the computer specs that I need. Any suggestion for the minimum and your recommended specs to Run Visual Studio Smoothly. Tnx in advance
Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Visual Studio 2010

#2 Oler1s  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Lover
  • member icon

Reputation: 1395
  • View blog
  • Posts: 3,884
  • Joined: 04-June 09

Re: Visual Studio 2010

Posted 25 May 2010 - 09:03 AM

Quote

Any suggestion for the minimum and your recommended specs to Run Visual Studio Smoothly.
At least 2GB RAM. 3GB+ is nice.

Dual core.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#3 oasisjoel  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Regular

Reputation: 4
  • View blog
  • Posts: 274
  • Joined: 11-September 08

Re: Visual Studio 2010

Posted 25 May 2010 - 09:07 AM

will this work?

My recommended requirements
- Computer that has a 2+ GHz or faster processor
- 2 - 3 GB RAM
- 3 GB of available hard-disk space
- DirectX 9-capable video card running at 1024 x 768 or higher display resolution
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#4 Oler1s  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Lover
  • member icon

Reputation: 1395
  • View blog
  • Posts: 3,884
  • Joined: 04-June 09

Re: Visual Studio 2010

Posted 25 May 2010 - 09:26 AM

Quote

Computer that has a 2+ GHz or faster processor
Telling us processor speed is pointless without telling us architecture, by the way. Advertisements prime you to think about the raw speed values, but in terms of performance, it's the architecture that takes precedence. As I said, a dual core or better. If you purchase any recent computer, you'll get an i5 or i7, which absolutely trashes the dual core in performance.

Quote

2 - 3 GB RAM
2GB is on the low end these days. 3GB is recommended.

Quote

3 GB of available hard-disk space
3 GB? That's...nothing. When you buy a hard disk, you can get 500-750 GB disks for about $100 or less. Maybe a bit more.

Quote

DirectX 9-capable video card running at 1024 x 768 or higher display resolution
Name the actual card....although the card won't matter unless you actually develop any applications that demand a proper GPU (for example, any GPGPU app).

Oh, and, for developers, there are five things that make a big difference. The monitor, the keyboard, the mouse, the desk, and the chair. Anything less than a 15 inch screen (on laptops) is painful. With desktops, 19inch or above feels good.

This post has been edited by Oler1s: 25 May 2010 - 09:30 AM

Was This Post Helpful? 3
  • +
  • -

#5 sarmanu  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Lover
  • member icon

Reputation: 966
  • View blog
  • Posts: 2,362
  • Joined: 04-December 09

Re: Visual Studio 2010

Posted 25 May 2010 - 09:30 AM

I have a Core2Duo CPU (E8400), 2GB of RAM, and seriously, VS 2010 runs like crap. It takes up to 10 seconds to launch. That's ridiculously slow. So be careful, this thing consumes a lot of CPU.

This post has been edited by sarmanu: 25 May 2010 - 09:31 AM

Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#6 Oler1s  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Lover
  • member icon

Reputation: 1395
  • View blog
  • Posts: 3,884
  • Joined: 04-June 09

Re: Visual Studio 2010

Posted 25 May 2010 - 09:34 AM

Startup doesn't stress CPU. It stresses two things. Disk and RAM. RAM applies for caching. Want faster startup times? Get a faster disk. And get more RAM...
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#7 sarmanu  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Lover
  • member icon

Reputation: 966
  • View blog
  • Posts: 2,362
  • Joined: 04-December 09

Re: Visual Studio 2010

Posted 25 May 2010 - 09:53 AM

It is not only the start-up that bothers me. Sometimes, the Preparing solution ... thing takes a lot (around 10-15 seconds for a project containing no more than 200 headers/source files). I could open that project in VS 2008 in no time. And that's not all. Everything seems to run slow. Even when I want to create a new project, it takes about 3-4 seconds to open up the New Project window. In my opinion, that's SLOW.

Quote

Get a faster disk

I have recently bought a 1.5TB Seagate, RPM: 7200 with a cache memory of 64MB. Isn't that enough?

Quote

And get more RAM...

Yes, that would be the next hardware upgrade.

As a summary (at least on my PC), the memory usage of VS2010 is way too big compared to VS2008. I mean, it wasn't that much of a difference in terms of memory usage, between VS2005 and VS2008.

This post has been edited by sarmanu: 25 May 2010 - 09:57 AM

Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#8 alias120  Icon User is offline

  • The Sum over All Paths
  • member icon

Reputation: 123
  • View blog
  • Posts: 700
  • Joined: 02-March 09

Re: Visual Studio 2010

Posted 25 May 2010 - 05:28 PM

To go off on a slightly different tangent, what do you think of VS 2010? I currently have a copy, but have not installed it yet. I am still using VS 2008, but I have heard that aside from being a little resource intensive VS 2010 is very useful. Thoughts, opinions?


-alias
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#9 Oler1s  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Lover
  • member icon

Reputation: 1395
  • View blog
  • Posts: 3,884
  • Joined: 04-June 09

Re: Visual Studio 2010

Posted 25 May 2010 - 06:10 PM

Quote

VS 2010 is very useful. Thoughts, opinions?
Useful depends on the person. You can take a look at the changes from 2008 to 2010 for each language. If you recognize those changes as being useful, it's useful. Otherwise no.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#10 alias120  Icon User is offline

  • The Sum over All Paths
  • member icon

Reputation: 123
  • View blog
  • Posts: 700
  • Joined: 02-March 09

Re: Visual Studio 2010

Posted 25 May 2010 - 06:24 PM

View PostOler1s, on 25 May 2010 - 05:10 PM, said:

Quote

VS 2010 is very useful. Thoughts, opinions?
Useful depends on the person. You can take a look at the changes from 2008 to 2010 for each language. If you recognize those changes as being useful, it's useful. Otherwise no.


True, that mentality could be applied to any technology though. So I suppose it would be more relevant for me to ask you directly. Do you find VS 2010 to be useful Oler1s? This is of course assuming you have used VS 2010, if not then my question is irrelevant and I pose the question to anyone who has experience with this particular software. To expand upon the original question, what was it you did/did not find useful about VS 2010?


-alias
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#11 Oler1s  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Lover
  • member icon

Reputation: 1395
  • View blog
  • Posts: 3,884
  • Joined: 04-June 09

Re: Visual Studio 2010

Posted 25 May 2010 - 08:03 PM

Quote

True, that mentality could be applied to any technology though.
My point is that you wanted to really ask a different question. I'll take a stab at what you want to ask, but I would rather see you first try to determine a good question. That's part of good problem solving. Figuring out the right questions to ask.

Quote

Do you find VS 2010 to be useful Oler1s? This is of course assuming you have used VS 2010
I did find it useful. Most notable are the language changes. I am very familiar with C++, so I noticed added C++0x support. Changes in a language influence how you write code (and C++0x makes things better). I also noticed and wrote experimental code making use of Concurrency Runtime. VS2010's focus on parallelism is very useful.

Similar additions are echoed in .NET, which is good. I can't talk about the .NET ecosystem authoritatively, but I did note WPF improvements as well.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#12 alias120  Icon User is offline

  • The Sum over All Paths
  • member icon

Reputation: 123
  • View blog
  • Posts: 700
  • Joined: 02-March 09

Re: Visual Studio 2010

Posted 25 May 2010 - 08:42 PM

I apologize if my question was not well constructed, but thank you for your response. C++ is the primary language I am learning, though I am not familiar with C++0x. I read that it is the planned new release, adding more functionality to the core language. If so, that is nice that VS 2010 has added additional support for it.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#13 oasisjoel  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Regular

Reputation: 4
  • View blog
  • Posts: 274
  • Joined: 11-September 08

Re: Visual Studio 2010

Posted 26 May 2010 - 09:24 AM

I have question about VS2010. Is it useful for SharePoint? If yes what are the advantages that could give to your site in SharePoint. Tnx Tnx Tnx :bananaman: <-- Just wanted to use this one :turned:
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#14 PsychoCoder  Icon User is offline

  • Google.Sucks.Init(true);
  • member icon

Reputation: 1642
  • View blog
  • Posts: 19,853
  • Joined: 26-July 07

Re: Visual Studio 2010

Posted 26 May 2010 - 09:30 AM

View Postsarmanu, on 25 May 2010 - 07:30 AM, said:

I have a Core2Duo CPU (E8400), 2GB of RAM, and seriously, VS 2010 runs like crap. It takes up to 10 seconds to launch. That's ridiculously slow. So be careful, this thing consumes a lot of CPU.


Weird, while I have more than that I have found that Visual Studio 2010 runs far faster on my system than did Visual Studio 2008 or Visual Studio 2005
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#15 tlhIn`toq  Icon User is offline

  • Please show what you have already tried when asking a question.
  • member icon

Reputation: 5633
  • View blog
  • Posts: 12,086
  • Joined: 02-June 10

Re: Visual Studio 2010

Posted 03 June 2010 - 12:21 PM

Personally, I find the greatest thing to invest in (after a decent box with adequate memory) is MONITORS. I have 4 widescreens at 1920x1200. Two are landscape and two are portrait.
Developing eats screen real estate in a heartbeat. For me, Visual Studio 2010 takes 2 screens. This lets me have pallets open and side by side and not waste my day opening and moving... and closing... and moving... covering and uncovering...

Then when I run the application to debug it, I like to place that on the 3rd screen so I can watch it side-by-side to the code. Sometimes one program is supposed to interact with another, so you need to have both open to watch them together. Or one is writing files to the HDD, so you want a Windows Explorer window open.

And if you are looking anything up in a PDF (an SDK document), or if you are following an example on a web page, there is the 4th monitor.
Was This Post Helpful? 2
  • +
  • -

Page 1 of 1