does that mean one must have four years coding a certain
language/languages or could that mean equivalent to the broad spectrum
of overall exposure of subjects leading up to the B.S, i.e Math, English,
...etc. I personals hold a B.S in computer science with focus on
Networking and I am here to say it hasn't increased my job hunting
ability's at all, so the question is does the o'l mighty degree really
hold as much clout as once thought?.

Thanks D.I.C.

Wow guys sorry for the layout of the post I don't know what happened.

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Self taught coder How much time/experience is needed

• Saucy!
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Self taught coder How much time/experience is needed

Posted 02 June 2010 - 03:45 PM

This is not a Java question...I will move this to the Corner Cubicle.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Posted 02 June 2010 - 03:48 PM

View PostJackOfAllTrades, on 02 June 2010 - 02:45 PM, said:

This is not a Java question...I will move this to the Corner Cubicle.

Sorry about that thanks mate!
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• D.I.C Addict

• View blog

Posted 02 June 2010 - 06:37 PM

Reference this.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

Posted 07 June 2010 - 06:33 PM

As a self-taught coder myself, my feeling is this....

If you can hold your own, then you shouldn't have a problem. Allow me to elaborate on the "hold your own" thing.

By "hold your own", I don't just mean be able to code, there is a lot more that goes into it:

• Be able to code, and code well - This means good coding style, knowledge of the language(s) you know, good commenting, etc.
  • In an interview, be confident enough to answer any question that is asked of you. Just remember, most good coding jobs will have you code in the interview. If they don't, I would (personally) question it.