SQL Server 2000 - Remote

Connect 2 PCs with Sql Server

  • (2 Pages)
  • +
  • 1
  • 2

16 Replies - 3051 Views - Last Post: 11 June 2010 - 03:25 PM Rate Topic: -----

#1 Guest_evry1falls*


Reputation:

SQL Server 2000 - Remote

Posted 02 June 2010 - 07:15 PM

Hi Every1 ....
i have this issue, i'm a programmar , i designed a software that works with 4 pcs through network , i have sql server 2000 enterprise, how can i remote the database ? E.X ====>

PC1 => Server
PC2 => Client1
PC3 => Client2
PC4 => Client3

i want that when i work in pc2 or 3 or 4 the data added to the database tables in pc1 .... ??

how can i do that ? or where can i learn that ??

i just know some basics about sql server 2000 Ent. Edition but just local server stuff !!

Please Help

Thanx

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0

Replies To: SQL Server 2000 - Remote

#2 raziel_  Icon User is offline

  • Like a lollipop
  • member icon

Reputation: 464
  • View blog
  • Posts: 4,255
  • Joined: 25-March 09

Re: SQL Server 2000 - Remote

Posted 03 June 2010 - 06:02 AM

in your connection string there is an IP to where your DB is example:
        "driver={MySQL ODBC 3.51 Driver};" & _
        "server=" & m_SERVER & ";" & _
        "port=" & CStr(m_IPPORT) & ";" & _
        "user=m_User; pwd=m_Password;" & _
        "database=" & m_DBNAME & ";" & _
        "charset='cp1251';" & _
        "OPTION=" & CStr(CNNOPTIONS) & ";"


Put PC1 IP for m_Server, the port to connect (usually 3306) for port etc.

hope it help you :)
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#3 Guest_evry1falls*


Reputation:

Re: SQL Server 2000 - Remote

Posted 05 June 2010 - 06:21 PM

thnx nobrain for your answer, but this is not what i wanted to know , actualy all Pcs are connected through Network .. My Thing is .. i want to know ( do i need to install Sql Server 2000 on the other 3 pcs??) ... if not , then how ???
Was This Post Helpful? 0

#4 raziel_  Icon User is offline

  • Like a lollipop
  • member icon

Reputation: 464
  • View blog
  • Posts: 4,255
  • Joined: 25-March 09

Re: SQL Server 2000 - Remote

Posted 07 June 2010 - 04:18 AM

nope you just need ODBC connector installed for other computers. you can download it here
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#5 Guest_evry1falls*


Reputation:

Re: SQL Server 2000 - Remote

Posted 07 June 2010 - 02:00 PM

are you going to tell me how it works ?? or you are just relying on my Search Skills to find out myself ??

come on ,, please tell me
Was This Post Helpful? -2

#6 raziel_  Icon User is offline

  • Like a lollipop
  • member icon

Reputation: 464
  • View blog
  • Posts: 4,255
  • Joined: 25-March 09

Re: SQL Server 2000 - Remote

Posted 07 June 2010 - 02:32 PM

well usually install it make your connection string to your program and connect to the database.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#7 Motoma  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Addict
  • member icon

Reputation: 452
  • View blog
  • Posts: 796
  • Joined: 08-June 10

Re: SQL Server 2000 - Remote

Posted 08 June 2010 - 08:05 AM

View Postevry1falls, on 02 June 2010 - 06:15 PM, said:

i want that when i work in pc2 or 3 or 4 the data added to the database tables in pc1 .... ??

how can i do that ? or where can i learn that ??


It sounds to me like what you are trying to learn about is SQL Replication. This is how a single database can be spanned across multiple physical machines.

Hope this points you in the right direction,
Motoma
Was This Post Helpful? 1
  • +
  • -

#8 Guest_evry1falls*


Reputation:

Re: SQL Server 2000 - Remote

Posted 09 June 2010 - 01:34 PM

thanx Motoma , i will look it up ,
i wish i find something
Was This Post Helpful? 1

#9 raziel_  Icon User is offline

  • Like a lollipop
  • member icon

Reputation: 464
  • View blog
  • Posts: 4,255
  • Joined: 25-March 09

Re: SQL Server 2000 - Remote

Posted 09 June 2010 - 02:56 PM

connection string firs line:
 "driver={MySQL ODBC <insert version here> Driver};" & _



if you want to connect to the server where your DB is you need this installed on other machines . also you will need the IP of the server the port to connect (usually 3306) witch you can make the user to enter and save them in some file. so the user may connect to other server to without you have to change the exe.

Replication on other hand is used for synchronizing databases usually server-to-server. for example several small local machines(for a city) databases are synchronized in a main server(for the state). do you even try it?

This post has been edited by NoBrain: 09 June 2010 - 03:02 PM

Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#10 Guest_evry1falls*


Reputation:

Re: SQL Server 2000 - Remote

Posted 10 June 2010 - 08:04 AM

NoBrain ... Look
why do u insist that im using internet .... i don't
Also ... i didn't use Mysql in my sotware ..... at all !
and the replication thing was something else .... very far away from what im loooking for ... !!

i dunno what is so hard about it !?? im sure there are plenty of softwares that running the same idea as mine ,,,,

again .. maybe i messed something .. here is the thing :

there are 4 pcs
and the 4 pcs are in one room bad they are connected through a network (router) so they can share files ..
i designed a sotware that will be used by the 4 pcs .. ok ??
so far so good ??

the database is Ms-Access 2003 and i converted it to Sql Server 2000 ...
Localy i already connected the software with the pc im using now ....

ok ??

now ... i will set the sotware up on the 3 other pcs ... how can i use this sql server 2000 database ?? without installlin sql server 2000 on the other 3 pcs ???

something like server to clients !!
so all the data from the 4 pcs will go into the one database on the pc that holding it (Server) ... is it possible ???

some other guy told me that i need sql server 2000 full version + windows 2003 server + Network specialist + setup something called "Active Directory" .... !!!

please guys Helpppppppppppppppppppppppppp
Was This Post Helpful? 0

#11 Motoma  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Addict
  • member icon

Reputation: 452
  • View blog
  • Posts: 796
  • Joined: 08-June 10

Re: SQL Server 2000 - Remote

Posted 10 June 2010 - 09:42 AM

View Postevry1falls, on 10 June 2010 - 09:04 AM, said:

now ... i will set the sotware up on the 3 other pcs ... how can i use this sql server 2000 database ?? without installlin sql server 2000 on the other 3 pcs ???

something like server to clients !!
so all the data from the 4 pcs will go into the one database on the pc that holding it (Server) ... is it possible ???


As was mentioned earlier in the post, you will need to change your software's connection string on the three other computer to point to the database on the server.

This is dependent on the language/software you are using, but you would typically do this where the connection is initialized or created.
Was This Post Helpful? 1
  • +
  • -

#12 raziel_  Icon User is offline

  • Like a lollipop
  • member icon

Reputation: 464
  • View blog
  • Posts: 4,255
  • Joined: 25-March 09

Re: SQL Server 2000 - Remote

Posted 10 June 2010 - 10:25 AM

exactly + they (the other PCs) need ODBC installed.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#13 Guest_evry1falls*


Reputation:

Re: SQL Server 2000 - Remote

Posted 10 June 2010 - 01:53 PM

ok now we are all agree ....
BUTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTT

DO I NEED TO INSTALL THE SQL SERVER 2000 ENTERPRISE ON THE OTHER 3 PCS ???
IF YES ,, THEN HOW ??
IF NO ,, THEN HOW DO I TRANSFER DATA THROUGH THE 4 PCS ???
Was This Post Helpful? -1

#14 raziel_  Icon User is offline

  • Like a lollipop
  • member icon

Reputation: 464
  • View blog
  • Posts: 4,255
  • Joined: 25-March 09

Re: SQL Server 2000 - Remote

Posted 10 June 2010 - 03:32 PM

i think i miss something ... if you connect the way we tell you the user will work directly with the database on the server. for example if user from PC3 make a query to add info in some table( INSERT INTO SomeTable VALUES(Value1, Value2...)), lets say using your program, it will effect the main database on PC1. what data you want to transfer? the idea of SQL is to connect to remote server database and the user to not have local database.

This post has been edited by NoBrain: 10 June 2010 - 03:44 PM

Was This Post Helpful? 2
  • +
  • -

#15 Guest_evry1falls*


Reputation:

Re: SQL Server 2000 - Remote

Posted 11 June 2010 - 02:58 AM

well Yes i want every user to affect where ever he chooses to insert , because in the end of the month i use these data inserted by all users to report the monthly income and outcome so all the users must affect n their own tables and the Outcome and Income Tables ....

im using Ado 2.8 ...
Rs.addnew
Rs.Update
and sometimes (Insert Into ....... )

i found out that Sql Server 2000 Enterprise Full Version is not Supported on Cluster OS like Xp ,
that is why im not able to upgrade my evaluation enterprise into full version, it needs windows server ,

so do you have any idea Where to learn to work With MS-Office 2003 database as a shared DataBase, and do the same thing i waned to do with sql server ???
Was This Post Helpful? 0

  • (2 Pages)
  • +
  • 1
  • 2