2 Replies - 882 Views - Last Post: 05 June 2010 - 09:53 PM

#1 Guest_GeorgeV*

Is majoring in CS still lucrative?

Posted 05 June 2010 - 03:55 PM

I'm currently majoring in CS at a state univ., but I'm a little worried about future job outlook.
- Almost all jobs I see require minimum 2-5 years of experience.
- How easy is it to land a job out of college?
- How long are the hours? I feel like I will end up working 80hr/week, and have no life outside work.
- What is the starting salary?
- How important is your academic transcript / GPA
- How good is career growth?

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0

Replies To: Is majoring in CS still lucrative?

#2 macosxnerd101  Icon User is online

• Self-Trained Economist
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Is majoring in CS still lucrative?

Posted 05 June 2010 - 05:43 PM

Don't go for a more formal job; go for an internship. A lot of colleges, at least in my state, offer some sort of assistance to help CS students land internships. In addition, if these jobs require experience, the best thing you can do is write programs. If you have an especially large or good project you worked on and are proud of, put it in your portfolio to show. This could be a school project, a volunteer project, or just a personal project you are working on. The important thing is to show employers you can produce.

How easy is it to land a job out of college?

I just landed an internship as a programmer at a local IT firm, so I may not be the best person to testify to this. While the interview went so well that I got hired on the spot, I called almost every other place in town before I got an interview. That is the hardest part.

How long are the hours? I feel like I will end up working 80hr/week, and have no life outside

Depends on your job. If you are a lead developer or project manager, this is more likely. However, if you are a standard developer, you'll probably work maybe 40-50 hours a week, clocking in and clocking out.