1 Replies - 3473 Views - Last Post: 10 June 2010 - 10:08 PM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

MySQL - Sports Card Database - Design Help

Posted 10 June 2010 - 02:29 PM

I am attempting to create a database to store my Sports Card Collection. I am fairly new at MySQL, however I do have basic database structure knowledge. Attached is my ER Diagram for what I have laid out so far. I am just looking for some constructive criticism, to help prevent issues before I start working on the front end.

Some things I am looking at:
  • Manufacturers could make cards for more than one sport
  • Manufacturers may not have produced brands consistently from start year to end year
  • I want to be able to have cascading combo boxes on my front end to streamline card input. I want to be able to select any combo box to start with whether it be Year, Sport, Manufacture, brand, etc.
  • I was originally going to incorporate a Player table, however some cards have more than one player. Wasn't sure how to circumvent that.

Any help on solidifying my design would be of great help.

Attached File(s)

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: MySQL - Sports Card Database - Design Help

• D.I.C Lover
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: MySQL - Sports Card Database - Design Help

Posted 10 June 2010 - 10:08 PM

Hey.

One thing I notice, is that you put the ID of every table in the "chain" directly into the Card table, where you could just put the last table in the chain and then follow it in a query.

The "SubSets" table contains a reference to the "Sets" table, which references the "Brands" table, which references the "Sport_Manufacturers" table, which references the "Sports" table, which is then finally references by the "Teams" table. -- So by putting a "SubSets_ID" in the "Cards" table, you can follow it down the line all the way to the "Teams" table.