7 Replies - 1694 Views - Last Post: 15 June 2010 - 01:49 AM

#1 smartflower2002  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: 1
  • View blog
  • Posts: 116
  • Joined: 20-May 10

apache php server config

Posted 13 June 2010 - 10:04 AM

hey guys,
i have used XAMPP for apache/php/mysql so far,
but i have decided to go to use individual servers for more performance, and also for learning.
plus i was facing some issue on xampp too, so i wanted to change it..
(i also used wamp but i dint like it, buts that not the issue)

now i have installed apache 2.2.15 (latest from apache)
and i installed php 5.3 VC6 safe thread.
after installation when i started apache i got error "requested operation could not complete"

i saw httpd.conf and 4 lines were added by php installaion
#BEGIN PHP INSTALLER EDITS - REMOVE ONLY ON UNINSTALL
PHPIniDir "X:/Web_Server/PHP/"
LoadModule php5_module "X:/Web_Server/PHP/php5apache2_2.dll"
#END PHP INSTALLER EDITS - REMOVE ONLY ON UNINSTALL


i commented out the middle two lines just to check and it apache worked, but when i un-comment those lines apache fail to start..

i tried googling, many tutorials, instrustion like setting env variable, coping dll to bin folder none work..

can u please help me?

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: apache php server config

#2 CTphpnwb  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Lover
  • member icon

Reputation: 2834
  • View blog
  • Posts: 9,740
  • Joined: 08-August 08

Re: apache php server config

Posted 13 June 2010 - 10:15 AM

I'm not sure what you're trying to do, but I believe PHP must be run on the same server as Apache. That might not be correct, but I doubt you'd see much performance increase if you could run them separately. If you want to put MySQL on another server you can do that, and potentially get some benefit.

This post has been edited by CTphpnwb: 13 June 2010 - 10:25 AM

Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#3 mahcuz  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head
  • member icon

Reputation: 143
  • View blog
  • Posts: 213
  • Joined: 03-June 10

Re: apache php server config

Posted 13 June 2010 - 11:42 AM

Check your Apache error logs.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#4 no2pencil  Icon User is online

  • Head MFIC
  • member icon

Reputation: 5066
  • View blog
  • Posts: 26,448
  • Joined: 10-May 07

Re: apache php server config

Posted 13 June 2010 - 09:46 PM

This is a server question & does not reference the PHP coding language.

Moved to Web Servers & Hosting.

View Postsmartflower2002, on 13 June 2010 - 11:04 AM, said:

i have decided to go to use individual servers for more performance

Can you further explain individual servers? What do you have running on your network, & how what are you using on different servers?
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#5 smartflower2002  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: 1
  • View blog
  • Posts: 116
  • Joined: 20-May 10

Re: apache php server config

Posted 14 June 2010 - 02:08 AM

XAMPP WAMP are package, preconfigured servers, we just have to install and run..

on the other hand i am trying to install apache, mysql, php everything seperately and trying to get them work..

i installed apache and mysql seperately, and they work like charm, but i am not able to make php work with apache

my error logs
(weird there is nothing in it.
[Mon Jun 14 14:36:41 2010] [warn] pid file X:/Web_Server/logs/httpd.pid overwritten -- Unclean shutdown of previous Apache run?
httpd.exe: Could not reliably determine the server's fully qualified domain name, using 192.168.1.2 for ServerName
[Mon Jun 14 14:37:29 2010] [warn] pid file X:/Web_Server/logs/httpd.pid overwritten -- Unclean shutdown of previous Apache run?



when i comment out those two lines in first post, works,
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#6 smartflower2002  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: 1
  • View blog
  • Posts: 116
  • Joined: 20-May 10

Re: apache php server config

Posted 14 June 2010 - 03:00 AM

okay got an error after re-installing.. in error log..

please see

[Mon Jun 14 15:27:35 2010] [notice] Parent: Received restart signal -- Restarting the server.
[Mon Jun 14 15:27:35 2010] [notice] Child 3920: Exit event signaled. Child process is ending.
[Mon Jun 14 15:27:35 2010] [notice] Apache/2.2.15 (Win32) configured -- resuming normal operations
[Mon Jun 14 15:27:35 2010] [notice] Server built: Mar  4 2010 11:27:46
[Mon Jun 14 15:27:35 2010] [notice] Parent: Created child process 3444
[Mon Jun 14 15:27:36 2010] [notice] Child 3920: Released the start mutex
[Mon Jun 14 15:27:36 2010] [crit] (OS 1813)The specified resource type cannot be found in the image file.  : master_main: create child process failed. Exiting.
[Mon Jun 14 15:27:36 2010] [notice] Parent: Child process exited successfully.
[Mon Jun 14 15:27:37 2010] [notice] Child 3920: All worker threads have exited.
[Mon Jun 14 15:27:37 2010] [notice] Child 3920: Child process is exiting

Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#7 smartflower2002  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: 1
  • View blog
  • Posts: 116
  • Joined: 20-May 10

Re: apache php server config

Posted 14 June 2010 - 07:51 AM

problem solved, it was with the extra features i chose while installing

i selected default stuff, and it worked
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#8 mahcuz  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head
  • member icon

Reputation: 143
  • View blog
  • Posts: 213
  • Joined: 03-June 10

Re: apache php server config

Posted 15 June 2010 - 01:49 AM

View Postsourcebits, on 14 June 2010 - 09:10 AM, said:

Ubuntu 9.10 karmic is not ready to install php5.3, even if we install as needed and specified.
In the meantime if you install apache with php5.2, it will work good till php5.3 becomes stable
installs fine. And no issues reported on net.


Huh? PHP 5.3 is stable, and the operating system is irrelevant.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

Page 1 of 1