• (2 Pages)
  • +

22 Replies - 2192 Views - Last Post: 21 June 2010 - 10:30 AM

• Cabbage
  • member icon

• View blog

Help me choose some new languages.

Posted 16 June 2010 - 07:17 AM

I know you get asked this question a lot but please bear with me. I currently program in Java and used various versions of BASIC in the distant past. I'm looking for some languages to pick up. I feel Java covers my needs for a general purpose language so I'd like to cover the two following camps:

1. Practical scripting
Something to bash out quick throwaway scripts. Something expressive. I'm a good programmer but Java simply isn't suited to this. I've been thinking about Python or Ruby. I've also considered brushing up on my Linux shell skills but the others offer so much more if I choose to take them in that direction.

2. Teach me to think differently
I've heard functional programming teaches you to think about programming in a different way. I've been considering Haskell (especially since I am an honorary researcher at Glasgow University :D ) but would like to know about my options. Are there any other paradigms or languages that would teach me something valuable?

What I'm after are some recommendations, thoughts and opinions.

Thanks in advance!

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Help me choose some new languages.

• LIKE A BOSS
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Help me choose some new languages.

Posted 16 June 2010 - 07:46 AM

1)
Python is a very good rapid prototype language. If you can get over indentation for blocks (which can actually avoid errors), it's very nice for "quick throwaway scripts." Ruby is an excellent language, and very expressive. It has some excellent paradigms, and is just as capable as Python. I'd say Python is a quicker bang it together language, but both satisfy this.

2)
Haskell is supposed to be fun and eye opening. Any functional language can help here. A lot of schools use Scheme (any LISP dialect would also do).