{
        Console.WriteLine("What is your name?: ");
        string name = Console.ReadLine();
        Console.WriteLine("Hello, {0}! ", name);
        Console.WriteLine("Welcome to my C# training :)/> ");
        Console.ReadLine();
    }
}

I get it all apart from: Where it says 'string name = Console.ReadLine();'. Why can't I just put Console.ReadLine() ?
There are 2 'Console.ReadLine();'
Where does the '{0}' come from and what does it mean ?
I am new to C Sharp as you can most likely predict, please either leave a detailed description that is simple for a 14 year old to understand in the forum or IM me at *******@hotmail.co.uk.

Thanks,
James :)

This post has been edited by JackOfAllTrades: 18 June 2010 - 05:05 PM
Reason for edit:: Added code tags.

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Simple C# code understanding

• THE PEN IS MIGHTIER
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Simple C# code understanding

Posted 18 June 2010 - 04:16 PM

The method Console.ReadLine() returns a string containing the data inputed by the user. So if I were to type in my name and press return, it would return a string containing my name. So by using a line like string myName = Console.ReadLine() you are assigning the variable myName to contain the string returned from ReadLine(). If you assign no variable to store the information, then the return value is discarded. The second ReadLine() does this only to wait for the user to press return before continuing with the code.

EDIT
As f or your other question regarding the {0}, this is a way to format a string with already existing data. Basically, {0} will replace itself with the first value following the string, {1} will replace itself with the second, {2} the third and so forth.

string myName = "Skaggles";
string greeting = string.format("Hi, my name is {0}!", myName);

This post has been edited by Skaggles: 18 June 2010 - 04:19 PM

Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#3 Curtis Rutland  Icon User is online