• (2 Pages)
  • +

20 Replies - 3894 Views - Last Post: 02 July 2010 - 01:21 PM

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

C++ Programmer's Bookshelf

Posted 27 June 2010 - 12:26 AM

Hey,
I'm new to C++ and i would like to know which is the best book and the best of its sequel-currently?
The reasons why there's no best book ever are:

• Language updates.
  • Writing/Teaching techniques.
  • Learning techniques.

Most of the greatest books in stores are incredibly old having a release date close to 1998 - 2004.

Take a loot at this page: http://www.cprogramming.com/books.html
"With it, you can go from beginner to expert by following our recommended C++ "Beginner to Expert" programmer's bookshelf"

This is the programmer's bookshelf for 2004 which one is for 2010 ?

I mean back then if you read all 5 you where considered an expert.
Which 5 less or more should i read to gain the same characteristic ?

Please propose your books in the order a beginner (me) should read them.

This post has been edited by Backtracker: 27 June 2010 - 12:34 AM

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 1
  • +

Replies To: C++ Programmer's Bookshelf

• D.I.C Lover
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: C++ Programmer's Bookshelf

Posted 27 June 2010 - 12:59 AM

POPULAR

Correct that most of the best C++ books were published around that time - Have a look at the books described on this page for a flavour of what is currently considered essential reading to learn C++ http://www.parashift...-learn-cpp.html

View PostBacktracker, on 27 June 2010 - 07:26 AM, said:

• Language updates.
  • Learning techniques.
Note that in terms of language updates, C++ hasn't changed too much since 1998 (when it does, probably in 2011 or 2012, compiler vendors will likely take several years to catch up).