• « First

63 Replies - 13108 Views - Last Post: 21 January 2013 - 11:55 PM

• Pancakes!
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Best Programming Language

Posted 21 January 2013 - 01:19 AM

View Postccdan, on 19 January 2013 - 08:26 AM, said:

The "proof" is scattered all over the web, on blogs, forums and so on... most FP advocates have a bunch of utterly bad ideas:

You could probably have made a reasonable argument on some of those points, but you didn't. Let's see if we can pull any sense out of all of this. FWIW, I'm basically a dysfunctional programmer who's learning some FP tricks, but I still have some reservations about the crusading fervor and missionary zeal exhibited by some of the more fervent and zealous FP die-hards. (I nearly said "blowhards")

- "changing state is bad" - well, sorry, but computers are all about changing state... without changing state we can't do anything useful - their attempts to limit state change only result in crappy stuff, from highly inefficient code that uses tons of resources for trivial thing to stuff that doesn't work at all

Bad first example. It shows that you really don't know what you're talking about. This concept parallels most of the interesting ideas of OOP - encapsulation, for example, is based on the same principle. Why is the "principle of least privilege" important for oo programming? Same reason lisp passes states around rather than changing them.
Look forward to parallelism. How much effort goes into trying to manage threads in java? Why?
Turns out that if you don't allow state to be modified, that effort really isn't needed: you don't need to lock access to a process if you can't modify its state.

- "dynamic/inferred typing is good" - it's actually pretty bad, it leads to lots of bugs