Linux server vs Microsoft Server

If you had a choice and could get either free?

Page 1 of 1

7 Replies - 2630 Views - Last Post: 12 July 2010 - 09:14 AM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Linux server vs Microsoft Server

Posted 11 July 2010 - 11:22 AM

I want to start learning a thing or two about networks and hosting and I was wondering which two of these operating systems I should run on my old computer (IP4 cpu 2.8ghz , 512mb ram, 500 gig drive) so that I could get the best results for my purposes. I plan on hosting a website off of the machine and perhaps in the future taking it offline and settup a home network for which all of my computers at home will have access to. If someone also could point me to some start up tutorials for setting up servers via their recommended OS would be great. :helpsmilie:

Sidenote: I have never used any flavor of linux before so there will be a learning curve if i go that route but I have free time this summer so I'd be more than willing to learn if need be.

This post has been edited by DrzNight: 11 July 2010 - 11:24 AM

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Linux server vs Microsoft Server

• Professor Snuggly Pants
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Linux server vs Microsoft Server

Posted 11 July 2010 - 11:28 AM

I use FreeBSD for servers. The ports system allows for easy management/upgrades, & I much prefer the psfw Firewall to iptables & whatever Windows has.

If I had to choose between Linux or Windows, I've installed Linux CentOS for customers. The answer will always be depended upon someone's background, so I don't know that you'll find the answer your looking for.

Image added
Posted Image
Was This Post Helpful? 1
  • +
  • -

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Posted 11 July 2010 - 11:38 AM

View Postno2pencil, on 11 July 2010 - 10:28 AM, said:

I use FreeBSD for servers. The ports system allows for easy management/upgrades, & I much prefer the psfw Firewall to iptables & whatever Windows has.