5 Replies - 709 Views - Last Post: 16 July 2010 - 03:52 PM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Function Procedures

Posted 16 July 2010 - 12:56 PM

Hi guys

Have come across something while learning about Sub and function procedures that has left me a bit confused, and was hoping someone would steer me in the right direction. I am currently studying from a textbook that sets small exercises at the end of each chapter to test you on the knowledge you have just acquired. The latest exercise asks you to write code for: A function procedure that receives the value stored in an integer variable, The procedure named (Divide Number) should divide the integer by 2 and return the result (which may contain a decimal place). The name of the integer variable passed to the function is (number) and the value returned by the function needs to be passed to a variable called answer. I completed the code, and was having a problem converting the integer data type to decimal. Being inquisitive i changed the datatype of the function to decimal and it worked, this is what left me confused, I thought the data type of the variable being passed to the function had to match the datatype declared in the function or is this only true when working with sub procedures. scratching my head on this one lol!! Here's my code:-

Public Class DivideNumFunction

Private Sub divideButton_Click(ByVal sender As System.Object, ByVal e As System.EventArgs) Handles divideButton.Click
        Dim answer As Decimal
        Dim number As Integer

Integer.TryParse(inputTextBox.Text, number)

answer = DivideNumber(number)

resultLabel.Text = answer.ToString("N2")
    End Sub

Private Function DivideNumber(ByVal num As Decimal) As Decimal
        Dim division As Decimal

division = num / 2
        Return division

End Function

End Class

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Function Procedures

• D.I.C Lover
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Function Procedures