Run a Release of Windows Forms Applications

Help running a release on multiple computers

Page 1 of 1

7 Replies - 2373 Views - Last Post: 19 July 2010 - 12:42 PM Rate Topic: -----

#1 kevinsyel  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 21
  • Joined: 15-June 10

Run a Release of Windows Forms Applications

Posted 19 July 2010 - 09:44 AM

Hi all.

New question. I recently finished a release candidate for a program of mine using windows forms application programming. I set it up for release, chose the appropriate operating architecture, and ran the program in a seperate folder.
The program ran fine.

When I moved the exe and pdb files to another computer that does not have Visual Studio Professional 2010 installed, The application crashed.

"PowerTestGUI has encountered an error and will now close"

In the Configuration Manager, the Configuration is set to release, the platform is x64, and Build is checked.

In my project folder, I have a folder tree that is x64\release\ and in the release folder, I have PowerTestGUI.exe and PowerTestGUI.pdb (my application name)

also in my project folder I have another tree PowerTestGUI\x64\release\ which contains various TLOG files, LASTBUILDSTATE file, MANIFEST file, vc100.pdb, a PreCompiledHeader, a RESOURCE file and a COMPILED RESOURCE file.

I tried including all these files in the same folder, and it still won't run,

I can take just the exe and the pdb and transport them to another computer with VS 2010 and it runs just fine.

I was wondering if there are certain parameters I didn't fill out when building the application or are the files somewhere within Visual Studio 2010 that I need to include in my release candidate folder to run on another computer?

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Run a Release of Windows Forms Applications

#2 sarmanu  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Lover
  • member icon

Reputation: 966
  • View blog
  • Posts: 2,362
  • Joined: 04-December 09

Re: Run a Release of Windows Forms Applications

Posted 19 July 2010 - 09:47 AM

Does that computer have .NET framework 4.0 installed?
EDIT: did you use C++/CLI or C#?

This post has been edited by sarmanu: 19 July 2010 - 09:47 AM

Was This Post Helpful? 1
  • +
  • -

#3 kevinsyel  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 21
  • Joined: 15-June 10

Re: Run a Release of Windows Forms Applications

Posted 19 July 2010 - 09:55 AM

sorry, Yes,
Microsoft .NET Framework 4 Client Profile
Microsoft .NET Framework 4 Extended
are both installed on the computer, and I am using C++... forgot to add that information

I do, however, see on both computers, WITH VS 2010 a Microsoft.NET Framework 4 Multi-Targeting Pack... This does not exist on computers w/o VS 2010

Is there a way I could have my program install that on these computers?
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#4 JITHU  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head
  • member icon

Reputation: 62
  • View blog
  • Posts: 201
  • Joined: 02-July 07

Re: Run a Release of Windows Forms Applications

Posted 19 July 2010 - 10:06 AM

Does your project uses some other 3rd party libraries?
If yes, you've to include them in your release folder.
Was This Post Helpful? 1
  • +
  • -

#5 kevinsyel  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 21
  • Joined: 15-June 10

Re: Run a Release of Windows Forms Applications

Posted 19 July 2010 - 10:13 AM

I use windows.h, iostream, fstream, sstream, and string.

Are any of those considered 3rd party?
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#6 JITHU  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head
  • member icon

Reputation: 62
  • View blog
  • Posts: 201
  • Joined: 02-July 07

Re: Run a Release of Windows Forms Applications

Posted 19 July 2010 - 10:25 AM

No.

Maybe you've to install the Visual C++ Redistributable Package x64 on the other computer.

This post has been edited by JITHU: 19 July 2010 - 10:26 AM

Was This Post Helpful? 1
  • +
  • -

#7 sarmanu  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Lover
  • member icon

Reputation: 966
  • View blog
  • Posts: 2,362
  • Joined: 04-December 09

Re: Run a Release of Windows Forms Applications

Posted 19 July 2010 - 10:31 AM

I don't know if VC++ redistributable package has something do to with .NET applications. I'm not good at this stuff at all, but I think that your application is dependent on some other .dlls. Use Dependency Walker to find out which dlls your program relies on. Also try to install .NET framework 4.0 redistributable, though I don't think that this will help.
Was This Post Helpful? 1
  • +
  • -

#8 kevinsyel  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 21
  • Joined: 15-June 10

Re: Run a Release of Windows Forms Applications

Posted 19 July 2010 - 12:42 PM

Thanks Jithu...

ran the installer and the release worked like a charm.

Wish I could give both you guys more KUDOs, but one per post is all I can do!
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

Page 1 of 1