8 Replies - 678 Views - Last Post: 18 August 2010 - 06:09 AM

#1 mariji  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 12
  • Joined: 24-September 08

Problem loading with Firefox and IE

Posted 20 July 2010 - 05:51 AM

My HTML+CSS page loads on google chrome only. it wont load in firefox and IE.
what should i do?
please i need help.

index:
<html>
<head>
<TITLE>WEB 2.0 Design Guide, Web Design</TITLE>
<link href="style.css" rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" media="screen" /> 
</head>
<body>
<div class=intro>
<FRAMESET ROWS="18%,*,9%" FRAMEBORDER=0 FRAMESPACING=0 BORDER=0>
<frame src="page/header.htm" name="menu" scrolling=no FRAMESPACING=0>
<Frameset cols="84.5%,*" FRAMEBORDER=0 FRAMESPACING=0 BORDER=0>
<frame src="page/home.htm" name="main" scrolling=auto FRAMESPACING=0>
<frame src="page/extra.htm" name="extra" scrolling=no FRAMESPACING=0>
</frameset>
<frame src="page/footer.htm" name="footer" scrolling=no FRAMESPACING=0>
</frameset>
</div>
</body>
</html>



css:
body
{
background: #C98862;
}
.header
{
position: absolute;
background: #C98862 url(images/head1.png) repeat-x;
padding-top:1px;
padding-bottom:0px;
padding-left:16px;
font-family: Arial;
font-size: 20px;
color: #E0FFFF;
width: 883px;
height: 93px;
margin: 10 178;
}
#menu {
float:right;
width: 600px;
height: 125px;
margin: 0 auto;
position:absolute;
top:4px;
left:670px;
font-family: Arial;
}
#menu ul 
{
margin: 0;
padding: 80px 0px 0px 0px;
list-style: none;
line-height: normal;
}
#menu li
{
float: left;
padding: 2px 10px;
}
#menu li a
{
text-decoration: none;
color: #fff;
}
#menu a:hover, #menu.current_page_item a 
{
background: #C98862;
text-decoration: none;
color: #fff;
}
#menu .current_page_item a {
}
.intro
{
padding-top:10px;
padding-bottom:80px;
padding-right:40px;
padding-left:220px;
text-align:justify;
background: #C98862;
}
.feature
{
padding-top:30px;
padding-bottom:20px;
padding-right:70px;
padding-left:1px;
text-align:justify;
background: #C98862;
}
.sidebar
{
padding-top:70px;
padding-left:200px;
background: #C98862;

}
.font
{ 
font-family: Arial; 
color: #282828 ;
}
#footer 
{
height: 40px;
padding-bottom: 15px;
background: #9c344b;
font-family: Helvetica;
width: 890px;
margin: 20 184;
}
#footer p 
{
padding-top: 20px;
line-height: normal;
font-size: 10px;
text-transform: uppercase;
text-align: center;
color: #FFFFFF;
}



Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Problem loading with Firefox and IE

#2 njwood  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 5
  • Joined: 20-July 05

Re: Problem loading with Firefox and IE

Posted 17 August 2010 - 06:19 AM

The
<frameset> 
tag is a replacement for the
<body>
tag, so you need to remove the
<body> and </body>
tags from your html.

I think this would mean that you can't have the "intro" div either as it's outside the frameset
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#3 daekano  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: 11
  • View blog
  • Posts: 62
  • Joined: 07-July 10

Re: Problem loading with Firefox and IE

Posted 17 August 2010 - 10:35 AM

Or maybe the internet realizes that you're trying to use frames and is counteracting you proactively.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#4 njwood  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 5
  • Joined: 20-July 05

Re: Problem loading with Firefox and IE

Posted 18 August 2010 - 01:29 AM

Hey daekano - I think I like your answer better! :bigsmile:
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#5 Sn0wBum  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head
  • member icon

Reputation: 9
  • View blog
  • Posts: 178
  • Joined: 04-February 10

Re: Problem loading with Firefox and IE

Posted 18 August 2010 - 04:13 AM

Choose either to either use <body> or <frameset> not both and also add
<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Transitional//EN"
"http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-transitional.dtd">
to your code so that broswers can verify the validity of the syntax.

Note: The use of <frameset> is frowned upon. Look into using <div> tags within the <body> tags. :)

Hope this helps.

This post has been edited by Sn0wBum: 18 August 2010 - 04:14 AM

Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#6 Dormilich  Icon User is online

  • 痛覚残留
  • member icon

Reputation: 3485
  • View blog
  • Posts: 10,049
  • Joined: 08-June 10

Re: Problem loading with Firefox and IE

Posted 18 August 2010 - 04:41 AM

View PostSn0wBum, on 18 August 2010 - 11:13 AM, said:

and also add
<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Transitional//EN"
"http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-transitional.dtd">
to your code so that broswers can verify the validity of the syntax.

as if browsers would actually do that …

This post has been edited by Dormilich: 18 August 2010 - 04:42 AM

Was This Post Helpful? 1
  • +
  • -

#7 Sn0wBum  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head
  • member icon

Reputation: 9
  • View blog
  • Posts: 178
  • Joined: 04-February 10

Re: Problem loading with Firefox and IE

Posted 18 August 2010 - 05:06 AM

View PostDormilich, on 18 August 2010 - 05:41 AM, said:

View PostSn0wBum, on 18 August 2010 - 11:13 AM, said:

and also add
<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Transitional//EN"
"http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-transitional.dtd">
to your code so that broswers can verify the validity of the syntax.

as if browsers would actually do that


By verify validity, I meant render the content correctly.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#8 Dormilich  Icon User is online

  • 痛覚残留
  • member icon

Reputation: 3485
  • View blog
  • Posts: 10,049
  • Joined: 08-June 10

Re: Problem loading with Firefox and IE

Posted 18 August 2010 - 05:09 AM

every browser (not in alpha or beta status) renders the content correctly, it’s just a question of how "correctly" is defined (cf. Box Model problem, DTD switch)

This post has been edited by Dormilich: 18 August 2010 - 05:11 AM

Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#9 drhowarddrfine  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Regular

Reputation: 39
  • View blog
  • Posts: 275
  • Joined: 28-July 10

Re: Problem loading with Firefox and IE

Posted 18 August 2010 - 06:09 AM

To clarify a bit, browsers only look at the doctype to see whether or not to go into standards mode, quirks mode (or almost standards mode). Otherwise, the only things that cares about the doctype is the validator. Doctypes are used in HTML only for legacy reasons (older and screwed up browsers like IE) to prevent them from going into quirks. (Thank you very much Microsoft for screwing that up.) In fact, that's the only reason a doctype is required in HTML5 and would have been left out.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

Page 1 of 1