• (2 Pages)
  • +

15 Replies - 5889 Views - Last Post: 30 July 2010 - 12:06 PM

• Awesome
  • member icon

• View blog

Software Development Internships

Post icon  Posted 30 July 2010 - 07:15 AM

Is it hard to get a good internship if the only language that you know is Java? I am still a noob, but I recently tried to get into C++ and I just don't like it at all, I much prefer Java.

I am starting university in the Fall, pursuing a Joint Honors Degree in CS and Pure Mathematics with a minor in Philosophy. I won't be doing an internship during the summer after this year because I would be hard pressed to get a job with so little knowledge. But for the Summer semester following my Sophomore year, I would like to be able to get an internship to help me learn and help me pay for school.

Will I need to learn another language besides Java?

I would like to get an internship that deals with the software development side of Information Security. What else should I learn to prepare for this?

This post has been edited by .Djoser: 30 July 2010 - 08:49 AM

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 1
  • +

Replies To: Software Development Internships

• Self-Trained Economist
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Software Development Internships

Posted 30 July 2010 - 07:29 AM

I'm going to be a high school senior in the fall, and I've got an internship working predominantly in Android, which is more or less a 3rd party library written in Java. The best advice I can give is to look at the requirements and recommendations for entry level openings in IT in your area. What languages and technologies are being stressed? Learn some of those. Where I live is a very .NET town, and I have a Java and PHP background. So while it's good to know those languages and can give you an edge, it won't absolutely tank you in the end if you aren't well versed in them.