6 Replies - 5408 Views - Last Post: 09 August 2010 - 01:01 PM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Popup window to display the PHP variable

Posted 05 August 2010 - 03:21 PM

I have a textarea that is populated with the variable $COPYLTRS, a CLOB, this is done. I am now trying to create a popup window that will display that variable by itself for easier readability. I have created the popup window;
&nbsp;<a href="XXXX/judicial/jo_letters.php?<?php echo '$COPYLTRS'; ?>" target="Popup" onclick="popup(300,300,1)">View Full</a>

However, I can not seem to get the PHP variable, $COPYLTRS, to display in the popup.

Here is my popup page;
	<script language="javascript">
		function closefn(){
			self.close();
		}
	</script>
</head>
<body>
<?php
	$tarea = $_GET['letters'];
	echo $tarea;
?>

<input type="submit" name="Submit" id="button" value="Submit" onclick="closefn();"/>
</body>

I am not sure where else to go. This is my first time doing this, please help me. Thanks in advance!!!

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Popup window to display the PHP variable

• Programming Theoretician
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Popup window to display the PHP variable

Posted 05 August 2010 - 08:01 PM

You are missing the variable name in the URL...

<a href="XXXX/judicial/jo_letters.php?letters=<?php echo '$COPYLTRS'; ?>" target="Popup" onclick="popup(300,300,1)">View Full</a>

Notice in the line above we have added "letters=" to the URL. letters is the variable name that will be used as the key name in $_GET and $COPYLTRS will be its value.

So give that a try and see if it works out for you. :)

P.S. Keep in mind that browsers have a limit on how much data can be sent through a URL. To get around this, instead of passing the data to the popup window, create the popup window and have it fetch the necessary data itself. You can tell the window which record ID (by passing the record ID through the URL) to lookup and fetch the letters from it.