CEO Pulls Power Card

Page 1 of 1

10 Replies - 1017 Views - Last Post: 13 August 2010 - 06:30 AM

• D.I.C Head
  • member icon

• View blog

Getting the Shaft

Posted 10 August 2010 - 06:14 AM

Here is my situation. I am an analyst and a developer. I currently work on two high profile projects at my company. One is a global project and the second is regional(North America). The global project has many resources working on it and the work load is spread out evenly. The regional project has to do with "data visualization" and is something fairly new at our company, so there are no standards at the time being. We ran through the gauntlet of infrastructure and security teams during our design phase. Our pre-reqs are all in line then the president of the company comes along and demands something out of the standard. Anyone else have situations like this?

Note: We are a global company which is a subsidiary. When I say president I mean president of the subsidiary company.

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Getting the Shaft

• g++ jameson.cpp -o beverage
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Getting the Shaft

Posted 10 August 2010 - 06:45 AM

"something out of the standard"

Does this mean he wants something you don't normally do?
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• D.I.C Head
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 10 August 2010 - 06:52 AM

A standard is a document that contains all items that you develop, support, and purchase (hardware). This is something that is used as a reference during the requirement gathering process when there is a new user that wants your service. By out of standard I meant his people previously agreed to the design and now he wants it a different way. If it were a normal person they would have to start a whole new service request, but since he is the president he gets what he wants. Keep in mind that our company hawks us about creating standards to prevent things like this from happening.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -