4 Replies - 2956 Views - Last Post: 05 September 2010 - 02:10 PM Rate Topic: -----

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

SQL Injection Prevention for GET function

Posted 05 September 2010 - 12:17 PM

I just built a simple little search for my site, and it's my first time ever really using GET instead of POST which has me realizing I have no idea how to prevent SQL injection in this sort of fashion. Could anyone give me a hand?

Here's my code for the search.

<?php 
 include("body-parts/connect.php");

if (strlen ($search) <=2) 
 echo "Search term too short.";
 else
 {
 echo "You searched for $search <hr>";

$search_exploded = explode(" ",$search);

foreach($search_exploded as $search_each)
		{
$x++;
if ($x==1)
	$construct .= "keywords LIKE '%$search_each%' ";
else
	$construct .= "OR keywords LIKE '%$search_each%' ";
		}
	$construct = "SELECT * FROM posts WHERE $construct";
	$run = mysql_query($construct);

$foundnum = mysql_num_rows($run);

if ($foundnum==0)
		echo "No results found.";
		else
	{
echo $foundnum . "results found!<p>";
while ($runrows = mysql_fetch_assoc($run))
{
$code = $runrows['code'];

echo "$code";
}
}
}
?>

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: SQL Injection Prevention for GET function

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

Re: SQL Injection Prevention for GET function

Posted 05 September 2010 - 12:32 PM

It shouldn't be much different than protecting yourself against attacks with POST. You've already begun some validation by checking on the string length of $search.

Here is where you're already performing basic validation/sanitization:
if(strlen($search))

I would recommend trim() and mysql_real_escape_string() as your next methods of sanitizing that data.
Trim should only remove leading and trailing whitespace on the entire string, so your space delimiters should stay intact and your explode function should not be affected.

This post has been edited by daekano: 05 September 2010 - 02:06 PM

Was This Post Helpful? 1
  • +
  • -

• Saucy!