How did you end up working as a programmer?

• (3 Pages)
  • +

33 Replies - 5702 Views - Last Post: 28 September 2012 - 04:31 AM

• D.I.C Head
  • member icon

• View blog

How did you end up working as a programmer?

Posted 07 September 2010 - 09:18 AM

In high school, I knew I wanted to be a programmer. When I went to college I signed up as a CS major and life was good. Unfortunately, I had a girlfriend at college who sucked up all my time (so I didn't get much study time or project time), and suddenly I wasn't doing well in class. Clueless, I deduced that I was bad at programming and should try something else, so I became a Psychology major. I graduated (major in psych, minor in CS) and went on to start a masters program in marriage and family counseling because "I wanted to help people". Halfway through my MFT program, I realized I made a mistake and that I really still wanted to do programming. I quit the MFT crap and took some classes to brush up on my programming. A year later, I find myself programming for a small software company and really enjoying myself. Compared to my previous two jobs of working in a group home and providing in-home mental health services to children and families in the CPS, Mental Health, and Juvenile Justice systems, I feel like I'm on vacation and I actually look forward to going to work.

How did you know you wanted to program? And did anyone else decide they wanted to program after graduating with an unrelated degree?

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: How did you end up working as a programmer?

• The Ninjaducky
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: How did you end up working as a programmer?

Posted 07 September 2010 - 09:30 AM